Top Ten Tuesday: Books that Made Me Want to Read More Books Like Them

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This week’s theme is:  Books I Loved that Made Me Want to Read More Books Like Them


I always like it when I find a book that I enjoy so much it leaves me wanting to find something similar whether that’s another book by the same author, or a tale with a similar theme or a particular setting or similar characters.  

This week I’ve chosen a few titles that I experienced this with, some of them standalone, some either a trilogy or a series (because even then you can never have too many books, right?!).  

As always I’ve linked to any reviews just in case any of these covers or titles catches your attention.

ShadesofMilkandHoney

Shades of Milk and Honey (Glamourist Histories #1) by Mary Robinette Kowal

SilentCompanions

The Silent Companions by Laura Purcell

SevenDeathsofEvelynHardcastle

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Gunslinger DrawingoftheThree WasteLands

The Dark Tower series by Stephen King

BearandtheNightingale girlinthetower WinteroftheWitch

The Winternight trilogy by Katherine Arden

The Wayward Pines trilogy by Blake Crouch

promiseofblood CrimsonCampaign AutumnRepublic

The Powder Mage trilogy by Brian McClellan

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

The Sun Down Motel by Simone St. James

DevilandtheDarkWater

The Devil and the Dark Water by Stuart Turton


So, what did you write about this week?
See you again next time for another Top Ten Tuesday.

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books that Made Me Want to Read More Books Like Them

  1. everythingalyce says:

    I still need to carry on with The Dark Tower series. I read the first two books back to back last summer and was really enjoying them, and for some reason I haven’t prioritised picking up book three yet. I’m going to be checking out the Powder Mage trilogy – it’s one of the only books I haven’t heard of on this list, but it looks interesting!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I’m just about to start the fourth Dark Tower book. I’m rereading the series and have really enjoyed it so far.
      The Powder Mage trilogy was very good, and there’s another trilogy by the same author featuring some of the characters from those first books if it’s something you enjoy.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      There aren’t many series I’ve read as quickly as I read Pines. I had so many questions that I just had to keep reading to find out what was going on. I haven’t read any of Crouch’s other books yet but I do have Dark Matter and Recursion so I’ll probably go for one of those.
      I loved The Sun Down Motel and definitely want to read more by Simone St. James.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.