Bout of Books 20 (August 2017) Goals and Daily Progress Updates

Bout of Books
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda Shofner and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 21st and runs through Sunday, August 27th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 19 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Talk about cutting it fine; I had no idea Bout of Books was starting next week. I’m really glad it is though, as I have some good reads lined up on my TBR pile and I can’t wait to start them. Having a read-a-thon to participate in at the same time is just an added bonus!

As always I’ll be using this blog for the majority of my updates during the read-a-thon, but you can also find me on Twitter.

Time Devoted to Reading

As much as possible.

My Goals

  • Carry on reading Darien by C. F. Iggulden, and hopefully finish it
  • Maybe even get my review posted on the blog
  • Start reading The Ninth Rain by Jen Williams (because I’ve wanted to read it for some time now).
  • Keep track of my reading progress via daily blog updates
  • Visit other blogs and comment regularly

Books to Read

  • Darien by C. F. Iggulden
  • The Ninth Rain by Jen Williams

Updates

Monday

It’s Bout of Books time again. I’m hoping to settle down with my book this afternoon so will update on the day’s progress tomorrow.
Happy reading everyone!

Tuesday (Monday’s Progress)

Had a great afternoon of reading Darien. Talk about a page turner! It’s all action at the moment, which made it really hard to put the book down. I’m really enjoying the first book of this new series and will definitely look out for the next one.
The only downside is I can’t imagine it will take me much longer to finish the book and I don’t really want it to end!

Number of pages I’ve read today:  100
Total number of pages I’ve read:  100

Wednesday (Tuesday’s progress)

Completed Darien yesterday. Can I have the next book already please?! I wonder if it will follow the same characters and their stories, or whether it will focus on another area and another set of people?
I even managed to complete my review and get it posted to the blog, here, and now I’m going to have a look at The Ninth Rain.
I’m pretty sure I saw a really thorough review of this book somewhere online which detailed the background of this new fantasy world I’m about to enter. I like having a bit of info before I start reading…

Number of pages I’ve read today:  52
Total number of pages I’ve read:  152

Thursday (Wednesday’s progress)

There’s always one day isn’t there? That day when you just don’t manage to get any reading done. Well, this was mine, so hopefully I’ll have more to report next time I check in.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  0
Total number of pages I’ve read:  152

Friday (Thursday’s progress)

Much better day for reading.
I’ve never read anything by Jen Williams before; she’s a new-to-me author, and The Ninth Rain is very good so far.
I can already tell that Vintage is going to be a new favourite character, so I really hope she makes it to the end of the book. What usually happens when I find a character I really like is they meet some awful demise before the book reaches it’s conclusion. Here’s hoping that doesn’t happen this time.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  65
Total number of pages I’ve read:  217

Saturday (Friday’s progress)

Oh dear, not the best day for reading today, but at least I did manage a (very) few pages.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  33
Total number of pages I’ve read:  250

Sunday (Saturday’s progress)

Had another good reading session and managed 100 pages; I didn’t think I’d manage that again before the end of the read-a-thon.
I wonder if I can make or pass 500 pages this time around?! I’m quite a slow reader so I’m not sure, but I’m going to try.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  100
Total number of pages I’ve read:  350

Monday (Sunday’s progress and final thoughts)

Final Summary posted HERE.

9 thoughts on “Bout of Books 20 (August 2017) Goals and Daily Progress Updates

Leave a Reply

