Booking Ahead: August 2017

Booking Ahead is a feature on Pages and Tea where I glance through my never-ending TBR list/pile and select a few potential reads for the coming month. If I’m not reading books I love talking about books I’d like to read, so this post is a perfect excuse to do just that.

Welcome to another Booking Ahead.
I have a few picks for my August reads, and hope they’re good ones because isn’t it almost time for the next Bout of Books? I’d love to get a lot of reading done during the readathon. Hopefully I’ll manage to read some or all of these…

New Books

Fever by Deon Meyer – I’ve already read part of this and am enjoying it so far. It’s set in a post-apocalyptic world where a fever has killed off a lot of the population and focuses on a group of survivors trying to establish a new community.

Books from the Backlist

The Novice by Trudi Canavan – I enjoyed The Magicians’ Guild and have decided to carry on with the rest of the series, so I’ll probably pick this up. The only thing slightly putting me off is that it’s another massive book and I’ve read so many of those lately that I fancy something a little smaller for a change.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling – Am reading this as part of my series re-read, and it certainly fit’s the bill for a smaller book as well, so that’s good.

If I manage to read all the above then I won’t be short of new potential reads because my TBR pile is totally out of control at the moment. All my library requests seems to have arrived at once (isn’t that always the way!).


What are you hoping to read this month? Have you read of my picks, and if so what did you think?
Are you looking forward to the next Bout of Books?
See you again next month for another Booking Ahead.

8 thoughts on “Booking Ahead: August 2017

  1. Alex @ WhimsyPages says:

    My monthly TBRs are usually massive and then I never stick to the books I picked up in the beginning of the month, so I decided to set up goals instead.

    This month I will be participating in two challenges / read-a-longs – ARC August and Read-a-Long for Brothers Karamazov!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Alex @ WhimsyPages says:

        Usually, yes. Sometimes I repeat them but it has been working for me so far. And there are always read-a-thons or other challenges that you could also join.

        For example, my main May goal was to read as many ARCs as possible (usually this goal comes up when I feel myself drowning in my ARC TBR). For July I decided to focus more on fantasies and other series I owned, and also joined the Booktube-a-Thon.

        August will be more about ARCs again, as I am participating in ARC August hosted by Read.Sleep.Repeat blog, and also will try to join another Read-a-thon for «Brothers Karamazov».

        There are usually plenty of challenges! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • pagesandtea says:

        I love taking part in read-a-thons.
        I find taking part in something gives me incentive to give more time to my books, but apart form Bout of Books I don’t tend to find out about them until they’re already happening so I don’t take part in that many at the moment.

        I’ll definitely look out for other challenges to take part in as well 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

