Top Ten Tuesday: Best Reads of 2017 So Far

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:   Best Books You’ve Read in 2017 so Far


2017 has been a pretty good reading year so far. I’ve really enjoyed most of what I’ve read, which makes narrowing it down to ten books pretty tough. Which ones do I leave out? Anyway, here’s an attempt, complete with links to reviews (where completed).

Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling – As it’s 20 years since the first Harry Potter book was published I decided to begin a series re-read.

The Boy on the Bridge by M. R. Carey – A prequel to The Girl with all the Gifts, this book follows a group of soldiers and scientists on their journey to find a cure in a post-apocalyptic Great Britain.

Sins of Empire by Brian McClellan and The Autumn Republic by Brian McClellan – Okay, I know, I’m cheating a little adding two books in one but I just had to mention them both.
The Autumn Republic is the end of the Powder Mage trilogy and what an ending to a great series.
Sins of Empire is the beginning of another series set in the same world, and featuring some of the characters from Powder Mage.
I loved both these books.

The Trees by Ali Shaw – Imagine you woke up to find the whole world had become one giant, dangerous forest.

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt – An eerie and atmospheric novel based on the real life double murder of Andrew Borden and his wife. His daughter Lizzie stood trial for the crime but was acquitted.

The Muse by Jessie Burton – I enjoyed the way the two narratives in this tale weaved together.

North and South by John Jakes – This is the first book in a trilogy set during the American Civil War. There are some brilliant characters and I can’t wait to get back to book two.

Golden Hill by Francis Spufford – A novel set in the early days of New York where a man arrives and causes a stir. There were some great moments throughout this book.

Cell by Stephen King – Everyone ends up in a zombie-like state after a bout of rage when they’re zapped by the Pulse, sent through mobile phones. A group of survivors go on a journey through this new and dangerous world. I read this after watching the movie, and although I liked both I think the book had the better ending.

Feed by Mira Grant – I’m ending my post this week with the book I’m currently reading. Zombies, a political campaign and a group of bloggers. What’s not to love?


What are your picks for the best books you’ve read so far this year?  Have you read anything that made my list this week?

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Reads of 2017 So Far

  1. MiRakelBooks says:

    I haven’t heard anybody talking about The Boy On The Bridge. I loved The Girl With All The Gifts. I’m looking forward to the new book 🙂 great list. I’ll check out all the books. I’m planning to read Feed some times this year.

    Like

  2. Brona says:

    I have Golden Hill on my TBR pile – it keeps getting rave reviews and I love historical fiction.

    See What I have Done was so atmospheric and so creepy, but then the real life story it just so bizarre. As a fellow Aussie I was very curious to see how Schmidt would approach such an American tale. I was convinced, & I’m glad that American readers feel the same.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Golden Hill is definitely worth a read.

      I hadn’t heard of Lizzie Borden before I picked up See What I Have Done but I started looking up about the case online because I was enjoying the book so much. I loved the atmosphere of the book – so tense!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

