The Goodreads Book Tag

It feels like a long time since I last did a Book Tag, so here is one I spotted over at Becky’s Blogs of a Bookaholic. It’s the Goodreads Tag. Hope you enjoy…

What was the last book you marked as read?

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt. It’s based on the real life case of a double murder. Lizzie Borden was accused and put on trial for the murders of her father and stepmother. I’d not actually heard about the case, but looked up some info once I started reading the book.
The way the author weaves fact and her own imagined elements into this makes it an intriguing tale.
It’s also fascinating in that it’s still an unsolved crime as Lizzie Borden was acquitted so the story offered up here is pretty plausible. The writing was great too.

What are you currently reading?

The Boy on the Bridge by M. R. Carey.
Did you get around to reading The Girl With All The Gifts? Well, this book is set in the same bleak world.
I loved that book, and have been looking forward to returning to Carey’s country decimated by a fungal pathogen.
I can tell it’s going to be a good story, and I can’t wait to see what befalls the 12 soldiers and scientists travelling aboard the Rosalind Franklin as they search for a way to stop the plague.

What was the last book you marked as ‘to read’?

There are a few books I’ve been looking at recently.

Red Sister by Mark Lawrence
Feed by Mira Grant
The Ninth Rain by Jen Williams
Sleeping Beauties by Stephen King and Owen King
American Gods by Neil Gaiman.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday also covers a few more of the books I hope to read very soon.

Do you use the star rating system?

Yes I do. I always find that when I start looking at a review I scan through to find the star rating, just to see what the reviewer’s overall opinion was before I start reading the review. I’ll still read the review as well, but it’s a good at-a-glance indicator so because I look for it in other reviews I do use it myself.

Are you doing the 2017 reading challenge?

Yes. I’ve set myself a low target this year, 20 books.
I keep picking up all these really long books, which I love, so there didn’t seem much point in setting a high target because I find I’m conscious of the number and the fact that I’m no where near reaching it, which can take away from the enjoyment of reading. I don’t want to feel like I need to race through a book just because I’ve set myself a reading goal.
I’m not the fastest reader in the world, and sometimes I get so drawn in to a tale that I don’t even want to reach the end.

Do you have a wishlist?

Of course! It’s endless. And it keeps changing, but two things I would definitely like are a complete boxset of the Dark Tower series by Stephen King and a matching Song of Ice and Fire set by George R. R. Martin once the series is complete.

Who are your favorite authors?

Stephen King, George R. R. Martin, Sarah Waters. Recently I’ve also really enjoyed books by Sarah Perry and M. R. Carey, so I would look out for new books by them too.

Have you joined any groups?

Not that I’ve been especially active in unfortunately.
In theory I’d quite like to be in a group, but my reading tastes vary quite a lot, and I’m terrible for getting distracted by brand new books. If these come from the library they usually have to go right to the top of by TBR as they have to go back, so I don’t think trying to read certain books at certain times would suit me at the moment.
I always regret this though when I’ve read something awesome and really wish that someone else had been reading it at the same time, to relive those OMG moments.

How many Goodreads shelves do you have?

I have the usual, then I have one for each year’s reading progress. I have a couple of TBR lists but I don’t really keep them updated or use them properly. I really should go through and delete a few things and try and get a little more organised but doing that would mean less time for reading, and the book will always win when time is short.

I Tag…

As usual, anyone who wants to do this!

 

One thought on “The Goodreads Book Tag

Leave a Reply

