Top Ten Tuesday: TBR Additions – Fantasy/Sci-Fi/Post-Apocalyptic Style

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:   Books From X Genre That I’ve Recently Added to my TBR List


My TBR list is massive, infinite and ever-expanding, so some of the books here may be recent re-additions to the list, or I’ve moved them to the top of the list as I really feel in the mood to read them right now. Perhaps I’m becoming a bit of a mood reader these days?
If so, then I’m in the mood for some Fantasy, Sci-Fi and a good bit of Post-Apocalyptic themed reading.

Sleeping Beauties by Stephen King and Owen King – I can’t believe this isn’t out until September. What a wait! I added it to my TBR list as soon as I first heard about it.

The White Road by Sarah Lotz – I read Day Four and enjoyed it, and have read some good reviews for this new book, so I’ll give it a try.

Feed by Mira Grant – I love a good zombie story, and this is one I’ve been meaning to read for a while but haven’t had chance to get around to yet.

Feedback by Mira Grant – Another book set in the same world as Feed, but from a different perspective.

Fever by Deon Meyer – The books this is supposedly similar to are The Stand and The Passage. I’ve read and enjoyed both of those, so onto the TBR list it goes.

The Prince of Glass by Karen Miller – I read The Falcon Throne a while ago and really enjoyed it. This is book 2 in the same series.

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers – For some reason I’m in the mood for a book or two set in space, and I picked up a copy of this one recently so hopefully it’ll be at the top of my TBR pile soon.

Red Sister by Mark Lawrence – I’ve never read anything by Mark Lawrence before, but this book sounds really good.

The Ninth Rain by Jen Williams – I’m patiently waiting for the library to get this in stock. I feel like I requested it ages ago but it hasn’t arrived yet. I do know it’s on order though, so that’s a good thing.

The Boy on the Bridge by M. R. Carey – This one only just makes it onto my list this week as I’ve actually just started reading it. I couldn’t not mention it though because it’s set in the same world as The Girl With All The Gifts (which I loved), and so far it’s really good.


Have you read any of the books on my list this week?  If so, what did you think of them?  What have you added to your TBR recently?

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: TBR Additions – Fantasy/Sci-Fi/Post-Apocalyptic Style

  1. Vena Isabella says:

    I sped through The Girl With All The Gifts last year, there was so much suspense, and the ending? Loved it! Shame on me for not keeping tabs on M. R. Carey’s other novels though! It sounds like The Boy on the Bridge deserves a spot on my TBR.

    Thanks for a great list! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. whatadifferenceawordmakes says:

    I’m definitely a mood reader. It’s probably why I end up buying new books when I have a pile i haven’t read yet! I haven’t read any of the books on your list! I haven’t read much sci-fi or fantasy over the last few years, but I’ve been starting to pick up more recently!

    Like

  3. Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard says:

    My TTT list this week features SF&F, too — but no overlaps with your list. I’ll be checking out The Falcon Throne, though!

    I had to laugh at your description of your TBR list: “massive, infinite and ever-expanding.” That’s a perfect description of mine as well. I’ll be lucky to get around to a quarter of the books on it! Periodically, I have to prune it, and I think it’s time.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I really enjoyed The Falcon Throne. It was long but didn’t feel overly so.

      The endless TBR list, it’s good and bad all at once. I think it’s about time I went through my library book pile and pruned that a bit. I’ve had some of those books for AGES and the library would probably like them back 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

