Reading Review: May 2017

Welcome to my Monthly Reading Review.
This post is my attempt to keep track of how I’m doing with my reading challenges and resolutions.

BOOKS I’VE READ

The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher

Apple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty

Total Library Books Read This Month: 2
Total Own Books Read This Month: 0
Overall Total Books Read This Month: 2

Total Library Books Read 2017: 12
Total Own Books Read 2017: 1
Overall Total Books Read 2017: 13

MY READ OF THE MONTH

The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher is May’s Read of the Month. It was unique, with some great characters, and the talking cats just added that little something extra.
Had I started See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt earlier in the month and had it finished in May I’m sure that would have been a contender too, because the writing so far is atmospheric and beautifully eerie.

BEAT THE BACKLIST

My total for this challenge is currently 9 books read. So far I’ve read:

Cell by Stephen King
Golden Hill by Francis Spufford
The Trees by Ali Shaw
The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler
The Muse by Jessie Burton
North and South by John Jakes
The Autumn Republic by Brian McClellan
The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher
Apple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty

I originally set myself a target of 8 books for this challenge, so this month I’ve actually reached and surpassed that target. I’m really pleased as I usually end up neglecting older books in favour of new releases, so I didn’t know how I would do when I first signed up for the challenge. I’m going to keep going and see how many I end up with. I think for now I’ll set a new target of 10 books for the year.

GOODREADS

I’ve set myself a low target for this year of 20 books. So far I’ve read 13 books.

GOALS

I participated in Bout of Books 19, which was really good, and am on the lookout for other reading events taking place.

I reached my initial Beat the Backlist target of 8 books, so I’ve now decided to try for 10 Backlist reads this year.

I’m keeping up with most of my reviews.


So concludes May’s Reading Review. See you again next month.

One thought on “Reading Review: May 2017

Leave a Reply

