Bout of Books 19 (May 2017) – Final Summary

Bout of Books

Bout of Books is over, and I had a good final day of reading.

I read 150 pages of Apple Tree Yard, which is the most I’ve managed to read in one go all week, so that’s quite a good end to the readathon for me.  I seem to read so much slower these days, I don’t know why.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 150

Total number of pages I’ve read: 375

I always set fairly general goals for the readathon (Original goals posted HERE).

I enjoy the ritual of daily blog updates during the readathon, and managed to (mostly) keep up with them this time around.
I don’t think I read quite as much as I would have liked to, but I did manage to complete one book and find myself something new to read, which was good as I was in one of those moods where I didn’t have a clue what to pick up next. Usually I’ll have the TBR pile in some kind of order with at least a little idea what I fancy once I’ve finished my current read. I hope this isn’t the beginning of the dreaded Reading Slump.

Thank you to everyone who visited my blog during the event. I hope everyone had a great week of reading.

The Week’s Progress Revisited…

MONDAY

Bout of Books time!  I’m hoping to get some reading time in this afternoon.

TUESDAY (MONDAY’S PROGRESS)

Had a decent afternoon of reading and managed to get through 50 pages.  I think I’ll probably finish The Aeronaut’s Windlass before the end of the readathon, but at the moment I have NO idea what I fancy reading next.  Hm…

Number of pages I’ve read today:  50
Total number of pages I’ve read:  50

WEDNESDAY (TUESDAY’S PROGRESS)

Not such a great reading for reading today, but at least I managed a few pages.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  10
Total number of pages I’ve read:  60

THURSDAY (WEDNESDAY’S PROGRESS)

I’ve had so much to do today that I haven’t managed to read a single page.  I don’t think I’ve ever read so little during Bout of Books before!

Number of pages I’ve read today:  0
Total number of pages I’ve read:  60

FRIDAY (THURSDAY’S PROGRESS)

At last, I have some reading progress to report. I finished reading The Aeronaut’s Windlass this afternoon, and really enjoyed it. Hopefully it won’t be too long before I have a review up on the blog.
And I finally settled on something new to read, based on nothing other than of all the library books I currently have checked out there is now a request on Apple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty, so I’d better get started on that as it will have to go back.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  65
Total number of pages I’ve read:  125

SATURDAY (FRIDAY’S PROGRESS)

Another pretty slow day of reading.  At least I have the weekend to look forward to.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  0
Total number of pages I’ve read:  125

SUNDAY (SATURDAY’S PROGRESS)

Managed a lovely long reading session today, which saw me through the first 100 pages of Apple Tree Yard. I missed this when it was on tv, so have little idea what to expect as the book synopsis was pretty vague. Hopefully I’ll be able to read for a long time on the final Bout of Books day and really get into my book.
How is everyone else doing so far?

Number of pages I’ve read today:  100
Total number of pages I’ve read:  225

3 thoughts on “Bout of Books 19 (May 2017) – Final Summary

Leave a Reply

