Booking Ahead: May 2017

Booking Ahead is a feature on Pages and Tea where I glance through my never-ending TBR list/pile and select a few potential reads for the coming month. If I’m not reading books I love talking about books I’d like to read, so this post is a perfect excuse to do just that.

Welcome to Booking Ahead. As always I’m picking a mix of newer books and books from the TBR list as I’m doing Beat the Backlist and have almost reached the original target I set myself. It was a very low target, but I’m usually so bad at picking up the books I already have that I was really surprised when I realised how close I was to it.

New Books

I’m totally in the hands of my local library this month, so my reading is going to depend how quickly they receive their stock of new books. Assuming it’s quite soon I hope to read…

The Boy on the Bridge by M. R. Carey – I am so excited for this one! I have lost count of the number of times that I’ve said how much I enjoyed The Girl With All The Gifts (you can check out my review here), and this book is set in the same world. So. Excited. I guess I shouldn’t get too hyped up, but sometimes you can’t help it.

The Ninth Rain by Jen Williams – Imagine my reading delight when this appeared on the library catalogue whilst I was browsing recently. I’ve started reading more Fantasy lately, and I’ve seen some good reviews for this book.

Books from the Backlist

The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher – I can say with confidence that this month will definitely be the month I (finally) read this book, because I started the first few pages recently. Talking cats? I’m in. I’m fairly new to all things Fantasy but talking cats is one I’ve not come across before.

And I think I’d better stop now because as always the books that have captured my attention are pretty long, so I’ll do well if I manage to read these three this month. Hopefully by the time Bout of Books comes around, which is one of my favourite readathons, I’ll be totally engrossed in one of these reads.


What are you hoping to read this month, and are you taking part in Bout of Books?
Have you read of my picks, and if so what did you think?
See you again next month for another Booking Ahead.

3 thoughts on “Booking Ahead: May 2017

  1. Kristilyn says:

    I’ve heard so many good things about The Girl With All The Gifts. I really need to check it out! Hopefully your library gets the new books in quickly. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

