Reading Review: April 2017

Welcome to my Monthly Reading Review.
This post is my attempt to keep track of how I’m doing with my reading challenges and resolutions.

Books I’ve Read

The Autumn Republic by Brian McClellan

Sins of Empire by Brian McClellan

Total Library Books Read This Month: 2
Total Own Books Read This Month: 0
Overall Total Books Read This Month: 2

Total Library Books Read 2017: 10
Total Own Books Read 2017: 1
Overall Total Books Read 2017: 11

My Read of the Month

How can I choose? Really? It’s an impossible task this month.   I’ve read two books, both by the same author.
The Autumn Republic was the conclusion of the Powder Mage trilogy and was a wonderful way to wrap up that series.
Sins of Empire is the start of a new series set in the same world but years later and it was also a great beginning. There’s just no choosing between them.

Beat the Backlist

My total for this challenge is currently 7 books read. So far I’ve read:

Cell by Stephen King
Golden Hill by Francis Spufford
The Trees by Ali Shaw
The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler
The Muse by Jessie Burton
North and South by John Jakes
The Autumn Republic by Brian McClellan

Goodreads

I’ve set myself a low target for this year of 20 books. So far I’ve read 11 books.

Goals

I’m sticking making a decent effort at my main reading challenge for the year, Beat the Backlist. My current total stands at 7 books read.

I’m keeping up with most of my reviews.

I’ll be taking part in the next Bout of Books, which I’m looking forward to (I love a good readathon).


So concludes April’s Reading Review. See you again next month.

7 thoughts on “Reading Review: April 2017

  1. Kristilyn says:

    You’re doing great with your Beat the Backlist challenge! I’m participating too and it really is a good kick in the butt to read my pre-2017 owned books.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thank you 🙂
      Did you sign up for the Hogwarts challenge too? I haven’t yet, but have heard you can sign up at any time so I might do that, if I keep going for the older books on my TBR.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      It’s a really good challenge, especially when you have a massive backlog of books to get through. I still can’t keep away from some newer books too, but I’ve done better than I thought I would so far 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

