Top Ten Tuesday: I Will Instantly Read That Book If…

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:   Top Ten Things That Will Instantly Make Me Want To Read A Book


  • A Post-Apocalyptic scenario – I do love a good ‘end of the world as we know it’ type story, so much so that I devoted a whole Top Ten Tuesday post to the subject.
  • A brilliant villain – Heroes are good, but where would they be without a great villain or adversary to play off?
  • Or an even more fascinating anti-hero – I love characters who fall into this category. They’re not totally bad, but sometimes their actions make them impossible to call the hero of the tale.
  • Unique magic and epic world-building – I love the escapism of a great Fantasy tale, so the more magic and the more detailed the world the book is set in the happier I am.
  • Zombies – If you’re going for ‘end of the world’ then why not add in a few zombies to make things interesting?
  • Page count of over 500 pages – I don’t actually do this deliberately and set out to read massive books, but for some reason everything that catches my eye is always so long. I set myself a lower Goodreads target this year because even though I say I’ll try to go for shorter books it never happens.
  • Certain authors – Everyone has a certain few authors they’ll always read, right?
  • A striking cover backed up by an intriguing summary – I know, I know – you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover. In general I don’t, well, not the cover alone, but several times recently I’ve been caught by a striking cover. Give me a great summary to go along with it and I’ll probably pick up the book.
  • A slow burn romance as part of a greater plot – I like tension between characters. I’m not a big romance fan in general but if there’s a slow burn to the point where you’re really willing the characters to get together then I’m in.
  • That totally random thing that just grabs my imagination and insists that I read that book – Occasionally I wont even know exactly why I feel inspired to pick up a particular book, and those are often the most enjoyable reads of all.

So, do you have any recommendations for me after reading my list?
What sort of things will guarantee that you will pick up a book?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: I Will Instantly Read That Book If…

  1. bibliopathictendencies says:

    Oooh. I love a good slow burning romance. It’s always SO satisfying at the end when you finally get the payoff. So interested though that you say books over 500 pages because those tend to put me off! Haha. But still a great list. (:

    Like

  2. Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard says:

    Nice picks! “Unique magic and epic world-building” — definitely; that will almost always get my attention, though other factors come into play, of course. And a lot of us put covers on our lists today: not so much that a cover by itself will make us read a book, but it can make the difference between reading the blurb/description, and not bothering.

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks! There have been so many times recently when spotting a gorgeous cover led me to find out more about the book, but you’re right, it wouldn’t be the cover alone that would make me decide. I know someone who never reads blurbs at all, just looks at the cover, but I like to have at least some idea what I’m in for, especially if it’s a long book 😀

      Like

  3. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books) says:

    How interesting that you gravitate to extra long books. I usually avoid those, even though I love sinking into a good book where you really get to know a setting and the characters. I often find, though, that excessively long books don’t really NEED to be that long, you know?

    Happy TTT (on a Wednesday)!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I know what you mean, I sometimes wonder when there are abridged and unabridged versions of books which scenes they’ve taken out and whether it makes any difference to the story.
      I really should pick up a few shorter reads too but can’t seem to keep away from massive books 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  4. Kristilyn says:

    I have so many books on my shelf that I can’t even remember why I picked some of them up … I usually pick them up based on the cover and don’t even read the synopsis — I love it when I get to that part where something just sucks me in! As for long books, I sometimes love them, but they have to be super interesting and unique. I’m just getting into high fantasy and kind of love that a lot of them are really long – the more story the better!

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      My bookshelves are like that too, and my e-reader. I went through that a few days ago and was amazed at some of the books I found which I’d totally forgotten I’d bought. I’m doing the Beat the Backlist challenge to try and get some of my own books read which is going better than I expected 🙂
      I’m getting into high fantasy too. No idea why it’s taken me so long to discover the genre but it’s great.

      Like

Leave a Reply

