Top Ten Tuesday: Books for Reading the Day Away

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:   Read In One Sitting Theme.


How I love the idea of reading an entire book in one sitting.
It’s never going to happen when I keep choosing all these 5/600+ page reads but I can’t seem to resist really long books.
For that reason, this week I’m going for books that may make you read the whole day away.  (You still won’t have reached the end of the book by the end of the day, but you might have managed a good chunk of the story).

A Game of Thrones by George R R Martin – First in the Song of Ice and Fire series. It may be several hundred pages long but I soon became engrossed in the goings on in Westeros.

Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling – I guess the first two or three books may be read-in-one-sitting length.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon – First in the series of time travel stories featuring Claire, who finds herself going back 200 years in the Scottish Highlands where she becomes involved with a certain red-haired Scotsman. It took me a while to get into this actually, but once it hooked me that was it, and I’ll definitely be reading the rest of the series.

The Muse by Jessie Burton – A recent read featuring two narratives, both of which were really engaging. History, art, a good mystery at the central of the tale, The Muse kept me reading for a good stretch of each day.

The Girl With All The Gifts by M R Carey – This one usually finds it’s way onto many of my Top Ten Tuesday posts.

IT by Stephen King – I can’t recall how many days I spent totally absorbed in the world King created in this book, but some of it was so vivid I can still remember it clearly years after I first read it.

The Trees by Ali Shaw – I couldn’t put down this post-apocalyptic read where the world becomes overrun by a mass of trees in an instant. The journey of a group of survivors is really good.

Christmas Under the Stars by Karen Swan – This one was a change from my usual reading choices and I really enjoyed the story of two people who meet under some pretty unique circumstances (I won’t say more and give it away). Although Christmas is in the title the majority of the story isn’t particularly Christmas-themed, so it’s one to pick up any time of year.

Any of the Jeeves books by P. G. Wodehouse – One of the few entries on my list that you actually may just about finish in one sitting, and have a good laugh during your reading as well.

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry – This has such a lot to offer; great story, descriptive writing and strong characters. I really enjoyed reading The Essex Serpent and lost many a day lost to its pages.


Have you read any of the books in my list this week, and can you recommend me any one-sitting reads?  As always, talk to me in the comments!

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books for Reading the Day Away

  1. happilyeverchapter says:

    I remember when I was looking to find a Stephen King book to read, and I thought about choosing it….until I realized how LONG it was. I was so surprised! lol! I still haven’t read any book by Stephen King because I can’t decide what one to start with! He has so many! I’ve also never read Outlander but I’ve heard it’s pretty long too. My friend is obsessed with it, actually. lol! I do LOVE the Harry Potter series tho! I’ve reread them all a couple times, but now I mostly do movie marathons. Great list!

    ~Julie
    https://happilyeverchapter.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      Then first time I read IT was on my e-reader. When I saw the paperback in the bookstore I was really surprised how massive the book was. The story was so good it never felt over-long.

      I’ve only read HP once all the way through but am thinking of doing a book/movie marathon some time, read a book then watch the movie.

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  2. Birdie says:

    I skimmed through your list first and saw Outlander, Game of Thrones, and It. I was like, “She read these in one DAY!” then I went back to reread your entire post. Very nice, switching it up like that. 🙂 (Also Outlander and It are two of my favorites.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      😀 I wish I could read fast enough to read those books in a day, my TBR pile wouldn’t be quite so massive then. 🙂
      Have you read all the Outlander books? I’ve only finished book 1 so far, but I’m looking forward to starting the next one.

      Like

  3. Lisa says:

    I like the spin on the topic! I’ve definitely been guilty of reading the whole day away, and HP, Game of Thrones, and Outlander are all books/series that have made me do it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      I love it when you pick up a book and next time you look up from it hours have gone by 🙂 I have almost the entire Outlander series to look forward to, so that should keep me going for quite a while.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

