Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR List 2017

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:   Top Ten Books on my Spring TBR


The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher – I can’t believe this one is still making my TBR-type posts because I’ve had it on my pile for the longest time. I’m in the mood for some Fantasy so I think this will have to be one of my first Spring reads.

The Ninth Rain by Jen Williams – As I mentioned before I’m in the mood for a good Fantasy novel and this one caught my eye a little while ago, so definitely adding it to my TBR.

Hold Back the Stars by Katie Khan – This story is about characters trying to survive in space with only 90 minutes of air remaining.

The Autumn Republic by Brian McClellan – This is the final book in the Powder Mage trilogy and I can’t wait to find out how it all ends. I’ve waited months for the library to get this one, so I was really pleased when I received the email saying it had arrived. Now to find out the fate of my favourite characters.

American Gods by Neil Gaiman – I recently finished Norse Mythology and decided I wanted to read more Gaiman so  I’ll probably check this out over the coming months. I bet I’ll end up watching the new series of American Gods too.

The Lonely Hearts Hotel by Heather O’Neill – The Bailey’s Prize longlist was released recently and I noticed this book had made the list. I’ve seen the book compared to The Night Circus but I’m never sure whether that’s a good thing because I loved that book so much that it always leaves me with high expectations.

Hidden Killers by Lynda La Plante – I don’t really read much crime, but I am enjoying Tennison, or Prime Suspect 1973 as it’s known now there’s a tv series (which I haven’t started watching yet), so I’ll give the next book a try too.

Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth – I’ve only read one book by this author so I’m looking forward to giving this one a try.

Carnivalesque by Neil Jordan – The cover caught my eye in the first place, I loved the contrast of the colours. Then I read what the story was about, carnivals and a boy caught behind a magic mirror, and I had to pick this one up.

Fingersmith by Sarah Waters – I read this one a few years ago but for some reason it’s back in my mind and I’d like a re-read. Not sure whether I’ll get round to doing that because I already have such a massive TBR pile, but this book makes the list because the intent to read it is there 😀


Have you read any of the books that made my list?  If so, what did you think?
What are you hoping to read over the next few months?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR List 2017

  1. Tammy says:

    Lonely Hearts Hotel! I’m dying to read that book. I really enjoyed The Aeronaut’s Windlass, and I’m kind of wondering when the next book in the series is coming out. Great list, good luck reading everything!

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      Lonely Hearts sounds really good. It will be interesting to see whether it makes the Baileys Prize shortlist. Hopefully I’ll have at least started reading it by then 🙂
      I feel as though I’ve had The Aeronaut’s Windlass sitting at the top of my pile for a really long time now, so perhaps another book in the series won’t be too far away.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I enjoyed Norse Mythology, it was perfect for when you have a short time to read as some of the tales were only a few pages long. I really liked the conversational tone of the writing too. Did you enjoy American Gods?

      Like

  2. Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard says:

    Oh, gosh, The Aeronaut’s Windlass has been on my want-to-read list since before it came out, but it never seems to make its way up to the head of the line! Norse Mythology is on there, too… but it didn’t make my top ten for this spring, either. (Partly because I’m so far down on the hold list at the library, I doubt I’ll get it until summer!) Enjoy your books, and I hope you get a chance to read them all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      I feel as if The Aeronaut’s Windlass has been sitting on my TBR pile for such a long time now that I really do want to try and start it soon (lost count of how many times I’ve said that before).

      Norse Mythology is good. I found it an easy read as some of the stories were really short so I could pick it up when I only had a little time to read. I was lucky to get the book from the library, I thought there would be a massive holds list but it arrived quite quickly.

      Like

      • Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard says:

        Patrick Rothfuss’s The Slow Regard of Silent Things is like that for me. It’s been on my TBR shelf since it came out. I preordered it — and I still haven’t read it; it keeps getting preempted by other books. I think I’ll read it this weekend.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lisa says:

    I loved The Aeronaut’s Windlass! Jim Butcher can do no wrong, as far as I’m concerned. I hope the next book in the series comes along before I forget all the details from the first one! I loved Fingersmith too, and should really re-read it one of these days. Looks like a great reading list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      I’ve never read any Jim Butcher before so looking forward to starting Windlass. I feel like I’ve had the book on my pile for absolutely ages now so by the time I finally get around to reading it perhaps there will be news of the next in the series.

      I keep hoping Sarah Waters will write a new book, I love her writing, but until then I hope I’ll find time to re-read Fingersmith.

      Like

Leave a Reply

