Booking Ahead: February 2017

Booking Ahead is a feature here on Pages and Tea where I glance through my never-ending TBR list/pile and select a few potential reads for the coming month. If I’m not reading books I love talking about books I’d like to read, so this post is a perfect excuse to do just that.

Welcome to my first Booking Ahead of 2017.
This year I have signed up for Beat the Backlist, because I have so many books on my TBR pile that I want to give my attention. Of course, I also cannot resist requesting brand new books from the library so this year I’m dividing Booking Ahead into two sections…

New Books

Both my choices are on hold at the library at the moment, so whether I do have chance to read them will depend on how quickly the library get their new stock in.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber – I’ve had this one requested for so long. I’ve seen so many people talking about this book online and it sounds just the type of story I would love to read. Caraval is Magic. Mystery. Adventure, many of the things I go for when looking for a new read, so I will be starting this as soon as I can.

Hold Back the Stars by Katie Khan – A more recent find, I requested this one after reading about the story in a magazine. It’s about people trying to survive in space, with 90 minutes of air left. The cover looks beautiful and the story sounds appealing. I fancy reading more sci-fi/space themed books at the moment, so looking forward to trying this one.

Books from the Backlist

The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler – I’m reading this at the moment. It’s a story of books, family history, old curses and carnival life. The narrative switches between the modern day and the past as Simon Watson comes to believe his sister may be the next one to fall victim to the family curse. It’s a great read and I’m really enjoying it.


What are you hoping to read this month?
Have you read of my picks, and if so what did you think?
See you again next month for another Booking Ahead.

2 thoughts on “Booking Ahead: February 2017

Leave a Reply

