Reading Review: January 2017

Welcome back to my Monthly Reading Review. This post is my attempt to keep track of how I’m doing with my reading challenges and resolutions.

Books I’ve Read

Cell by Stephen King

Golden Hill by Francis Spufford

The Trees by Ali Shaw

Total Library Books Read This Month: 3
Total Own Books Read This Month: 0
Overall Total Books Read This Month: 3

Total Library Books Read 2017: 3
Total Own Books Read 2017: 0
Overall Total Books Read 2017: 3

My Read of the Month

Let’s add something new here, I thought to myself.
Maybe highlight a favourite read of the month, I thought.
That was before I went on to have a great start to the reading year and now find myself with an almost impossible choice for my read of the month. Any of the books I’ve listed above are really good.
After much deliberation I’m going to choose…

The Trees by Ali Shaw, because it was the first book of the year to make me cry (just a tiny little bit). The scene in question, well, I guess I should have seen it coming actually but I didn’t, not for a minute. Can’t say more without spoiling the moment and I wouldn’t want to do that.

Beat the Backlist

btbchallengeslider

My total for this challenge is currently 3 books read. So far I’ve read:

Cell by Stephen King
Golden Hill by Francis Spufford
The Trees by Ali Shaw

Goodreads

I’ve set myself a low target for this year of 20 books. So far I’ve read 3 book.

Goals

I’ve actually really taken to my main reading challenge for the year, Beat the Backlist, and have read 3 Books so far from my backlist.

I also managed to post reviews for each book very soon after completing the book.

I feel like I’ve updated fairly regularly for the first month of this new year.


So concludes January’s Reading Review. See you again next month.

One thought on “Reading Review: January 2017

Leave a Reply

