Top Ten Tuesday – Ten of the Longest Books I’ve ever read

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:   Freebie, so I’m choosing ten of the longest books I’ve ever read


 I always feel drawn to really long books. I can’t seem to resist them, even though I keep thinking I should go for something shorter sometimes too. So, I thought it would be fun to have a look back and see just how long some of my longest reads have been. This list is the result:

IT by Stephen King – Wow, this one clocks in at a massive 1396 pages. I read this on my e-reader, so am actually surprised by this total because there’s no way the story felt that long, and it’s one I would definitely read again. I love the story of the group of children who end up fighting a monster that can take on the form of whatever you fear most. That they end up doing battle with it again years later as adults adds another layer to the story.

The Stand by Stephen King – 1320 of post-apocalypse in which the world is wiped out by the Captain Trips virus and the survivors find themselves drawn to two distant figures, Mother Abagail and the sinister Randall Flagg.

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett – A historical novel of 1088 pages which revolves around the construction of a cathedral. The story follows several characters involved in the project and their adventures.

The Dark Tower by Stephen King – Stephen King does write a lot of long books, doesn’t he? This one comes in at 1072 pages. I love the whole Dark Tower series.

Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell – 1037 pages of the tale of Scarlett O’Hara.  It’s a long time since I read this one.

A Clash of Kings by George R R Martin – The second book in the Song of Ice and Fire series is 913 pages of great fantasy reading.

The Passage by Justin Cronin – 897 pages. I really need to read the rest of this series as I’m really into post-apocalyptic type stories at the moment.

The Fireman by Joe Hill – The world ends in fire in this 768 page tale. People affected by Dragonscale have a tendency to literally go up in flames, but there are those who may be able to survive, and even control the fire.

The Falcon Throne by Karen Miller – The first book of the Tarnished Crown series comes in at 729 pages with some great characters and situations. The next book in this series is due out later this year.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon – Last on my list, the first time travel romance/adventure featuring Claire and Jamie Fraser is 627 pages long. I wonder how long the rest are, because I have them all on my tbr and want to read at least some of them during this year.


Do you enjoy long reads, and have you read any of the books that made my list?
Or are shorter reads more you?
I think I should try a few more shorter reads this year, maybe…

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten of the Longest Books I’ve ever read

    • pagesandtea says:

      It’s a while since I watched the movie, but I do remember enjoying it. The book is such a great read. I love the gang of kids and the friendship they have. There are some pretty creepy scenes which I don’t think made it into the movie but perhaps some of those will appear in the new version they’re making.
      I’d definitely give the book a try 🙂

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I do love getting lost in a really long, great book. I’ve not heard of The Sunne in Splendour so will have to check that one out.
      I recently finished Stephen King’s short story collection The Bazaar of Bad Dreams and really enjoyed it, but his longer novels are great too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

