The Seasons of Book Blogging Tag

Thank you to Cristina of My Tiny Obsessions for tagging me for the Seasons of Book Blogging Tag. Let’s get started…

The Seasons of Book Blogging Tag was created by J @J. BOOKISH

HOW IT WORKS:

Thank the creator (so she can see all of your answers!) and the person who tagged you.
Begin with the month in which you have been tagged and move forward from there!
State the best gift you’ve ever been given after you answer the question for your birthday month.
Tag whomever you’d like when you’re finished.. or else you’ll be “it” forever.
Have fun, of course!

January begins a new year. Name a resolution you made this year and if you’ve kept it or not!

I would like to read 20 books for my Goodreads challenge this year and I really want to give some attention to my TBR list/pile/mountain, so I signed up for Beat the Backlist to give me some motivation. Let’s see how I get on when all those wonderful brand new books start tempting me.

February is the month for relationships. Name your favorite book relationship: romantic, platonic, or familial, your choice!

For friendship I love Harry, Ron and Hermione from the Harry Potter series.
Oh, and the Losers’ Club from Stephen King’s IT.
Romantic? I’m going for Claire and Jamie from Outlander.

March is the month for luck and new beginnings. Name a book or series that you would like to re-experience as if you’d never read it.

Harry Potter. I loved the experience of my first read of those books. I would go to the midnight book release then spend the next few days lost to the real world as I returned to Hogwarts for each new instalment.

April is a spectacularly ordinary month. Name a book that was so over-hyped that it just could not live up to your expectations.

I can’t think of anything that’s been over-hyped, but the one I’m feeling pretty hyped for myself is Caraval by Stephanie Garber. I can’t wait to get my hands on that book, and have read so many good reviews that I’ll be starting it as soon as possible. Will it live up to my expectations? I think so, and I hope so, because it sounds great.

May is the month when the flowers start to bloom. Name a book that was a pleasant surprise to you

Am going to choose some recent reads for this one I think. The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry, To the Bright Edge of the World by Eowyn Ivey and Golden Hill by Francis Spufford.

June is the time to take a break. Name a book or genre that you like to read when you just need to check out.

I love Karen Swan’s books because they’re such a change from the genres I would usually read. I finished Christmas Under the Stars at the end of last year and I thought it was a marvellous read.

July is the time to celebrate your independence! Name a book that made you see fireworks. (Figuratively. Please don’t light books on fire.)

Okay, for literal fireworks this one goes to The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King for that wonderful short story about the competitive firework competition which goes totally over the top and gets out of hand in a major way. The title of the story was Drunken Fireworks so you can imagine some of what lies in store in that tale.

August is the hottest month of the year. Pick an up-and-coming author that you think will be the next hottest thing.

Feel free to help me out here, because I have no idea at all.

September is time for students to go back to school! Pick a book you read for school that you actually enjoyed.

I read Jane Eyre for the first time at school, and have revisited the book a couple of time since then. In fact, I think it might be time for a re-read.

October is time to celebrate Halloween! Pick one character that you would love to dress up as for Halloween.

Maybe Elphaba from Wicked by Gregory Maguire.

November is the month when we’re reminded of how much we have to be thankful for. Choose one book you’re grateful for having read and give a shout-out to the person who recommended it!

I can’t remember the last time someone recommended a book to me, which I guess is a little strange, but for this one I’m going to say the Jeeves books by P. G. Wodehouse. I love the humour and comedy. They’re great for escapism.

December is a time when friends and families come together and celebrate. Name one book you would give as a gift.

Just one? That’s so tough. I recently finished Golden Hill by Francis Spufford and really enjoyed it so I’ll go for that.


If you’ve made it to the end of my post and feel like answering these questions yourself then you’re tagged.  Let me know how you get on!

One thought on “The Seasons of Book Blogging Tag

Leave a Reply

