Bout of Books 18 (January 2017) – Final Summary

Bout of Books 18

Bout of Books is over, and I had a really good final day of reading.

After finishing Cell, which I didn’t expect to do, I picked out another book to start, Golden Hill by Francis Spufford. I settled down to read and by the end of the day had gone through the first 100 pages. I stopped where I did because 100 pages is a nice number and the scene that had just concluded had me laughing out loud and I wanted to savour it for a while. Can’t wait to get back to reading more today.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 100

Total number of pages I’ve read: 573

I always set fairly general goals for the readathon (Original goals posted HERE).

As usual I’ve enjoyed the daily blog updates and learning about the books others have been reading during the event.
I managed to complete one book and start another, and made (almost) daily progress updates so it‘s been a decent start to a new reading year.Thank you to everyone who visited and commented on my blog during the event. I hope everyone had a great week of reading.

The Week’s Progress Revisited…

MONDAY

Bout of Books time again!  I’m looking forward to some quality reading time today, and can’t wait to start my first read of the year.

TUESDAY (MONDAY’S PROGRESS)

Managed to spend a lovely afternoon reading yesterday, and made a good start with Cell.  I wanted to read this book because I saw the film not long ago and while I enjoyed it, it left me with questions, so I thought I’d see how the book tells the story, and whether it gives explanations to the things I was wondering about.  So far, so good.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  75
Total number of pages I’ve read:  75

WEDNESDAY (TUESDAY’S PROGRESS)

This book must be good because I managed to read over 100 pages yesterday.  I can’t remember the last time that happened recently.  At the end of last year my reading pace was really slow and it seemed to takes ages to finish a book.

Number of pages I’ve read today:
Total number of pages I’ve read:

THURSDAY (WEDNESDAY’S PROGRESS)

I’ve come across some great scenes in Cell which I wish had made it into the film, although there’s been at least one character’s demise which was pretty disgusting. At this point I think I’m enjoying the book slightly more than the film. Can’t wait to see what the ending is like.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  100
Total number of pages I’ve read:  300

FRIDAY (THURSDAY’S PROGRESS)

It had to happen, that there would come the day when I didn’t get chance to read anything at all. There’s always at least one during the readathon.
Still, at least that gives me plenty more story to enjoy, and hopefully I’ll have chance to read much more tomorrow.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  0
Total number of pages I’ve read:  300

SATURDAY (FRIDAY’S PROGRESS)

Another pretty slow day of reading.  At least I have the weekend to look forward to.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  20
Total number of pages I’ve read:  320

SUNDAY (SATURDAY’S PROGRESS)

Well here’s something unexpected… I finished my first read of 2017 during Bout of Books. I had such a great afternoon with plenty of time to devote to reading Cell. As the story went on it became one of those books I really didn’t want to put down because I had to know how it was all going to turn out.
And now I know.
And I’m pretty sad to have reached the end because I could have read so much more about those characters.

Am now off to have a look through my endless TBR list/pile and find something new to start for the final day of the readathon.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  153
Total number of pages I’ve read:  473

8 thoughts on “Bout of Books 18 (January 2017) – Final Summary

Leave a Reply

