2016: The Year-End Book Survey

This Year End Survey is hosted by Jamie over at The Perpetual Page Turner.

I love this opportunity to look back over the last year of reading.
Going through my list of what I’ve read usually makes me smile as I remember some of the great stories and characters I’ve encountered over the last 12 months.
This will probably be my final post of 2016, so I hope everyone enjoys the holidays and I’ll be back in 2017 for more bookish blogging. See you then!

2016 Reading Stats

Number of books you read: 25

Re-Reads: 0

Most Popular Genre: Fantasy

Best in Books

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?
(If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2016 release vs. backlist)

Uprooted by Naomi Novik
The Fireman by Joe Hill
Fellside by M. R. Carey
The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Mount! By Jilly Cooper.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2016?

Christmas Under the Stars by Karen Swan (loved it!)

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2016?

Ha, totally failed on this front (again).

5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Series started – Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I actually watched the tv series before I read the book, but that didn’t take away any of the enjoyment of reading about Jamie and Claire’s adventures. It’s definitely a series I’m going to continue with.

Sequel – Okay, it’s not a sequel, but it is the second book by an author that I’ve read, so I’m going to say Fellside by M. R. Carey.

Series Ender – End of Watch by Stephen King. I really enjoyed that book, so much in fact that it made me want to go right back to the beginning and the read the trilogy all over again.

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Sarah Perry (The Essex Serpent) and Joe Hill (The Fireman).

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Christmas Under the Stars by Karen Swan. My last read of 2016 and not my usual fare, but it was SO GOOD!

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. What an eerie murder mystery that book was. I really must read more Christie.

9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

I can’t see myself re-reading in 2017, mainly because I’ve decided to try and stop neglecting the books I already own but have yet to read. I really want to try and make a dent in my never-ending TBR list of books, but if I did choose to re-read something I’d go for The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry. And Christmas Under the Stars had a gorgeous cover too.

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

The Dragon from Uprooted by Naomi Novik

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry was really well written.

13.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

According to Goodreads The Fireman by Joe Hill was the longest book I read at 768 pages.
The Emperor’s Soul by Brandon Sanderson checks in at 128 page and is likely the shortest book I read.

14. Book That Shocked You The Most

There was a twist in Fellside by M. R. Carey that I didn’t see coming.

15. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

I can’t choose just one, I really can’t, so…

Jamie and Claire from Outlander.

Harper and John Rookwood from The Fireman by Joe Hill

Agnieszka and the Dragon from Uprooted by Naomi Novik

16. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Mma Ramotswe and Mma Makutsi from the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency have a great friendship.

Also Dunk and Egg from A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George R. R. Martin.

17. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

End of Watch by Stephen King.

18. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Can’t think of anything at the moment for this one.

19. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

Jamie from Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, and John Rookwood from The Fireman by Joe Hill.

20. Best 2016 debut you read?

I don’t think I’ve read a single debut during the year which I’m a bit surprised about.

21. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

To the Bright Edge of the World by Eowyn Ivey created a journey upriver into Alaska so vividly that I remained glued to the book the entire time I was reading. I could barely put it down, the characters and the setting were so intriguing.

22. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Christmas Under the Stars by Karen Swan was a nice way to end my reading year.

23. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Christmas Under The Stars by Karen Swan. It had a really unique meeting between two characters which I thought was just great. I really enjoyed the read.

Your Blogging/Bookish Life

1. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

I enjoyed writing about The Essex Serpent because I enjoyed reading the book so much. It’s always hard to rein it in when I’ve enjoyed something and really want to talk endlessly about it but without giving anything major away and risk spoiling it for new readers.

2. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

I really must try to add more of these types of posts to my blog, but for now I’ll go for my Top Ten Tuesday post for book groups who are looking for a post-apocalyptic type situation. I really enjoyed thinking about the titles I would add to that list.

3. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I love Bout of Books and the daily updating of my reading progress on the blog. I also started joining in Top Ten Tuesday a little more regularly towards the end of the year and enjoyed that too.

4. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

Taking part in readathons knowing so many other people are doing the same thing at the same time.

5. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Any review posts really.

6. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

As usual I set myself a target for the Goodreads challenge. I went really low with 25 books and in the end I struggled to manage even that amount. I think it’s because I read so many really long books. I can’t seem to resist them, so I think my next target for this challenge will be even lower.

Looking Ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Just one? Have several – Cell, Needful Things and Misery, all by Stephen King. The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher, Golden Hill by Francis Spufford, The Trees by Ali Smith. Okay, I’ll stop now.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

The next Oversight book by Charlie Fletcher.

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

The final Oversight book by Charlie Fletcher. They usually appear quite early on in the year, so hopefully it will be one of my first reads of the new year.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

I may have said this before but I really want to try and read more of the books I already own. I was looking through my e-reader a while ago and was amazed at some of the books I found I’d already bought and totally forgotten about. So many great stories and yet I haven’t read any of them. So, 2017 is the year that I’m really going to try and read at least a few of my own books. I’m even considering signing up to a challenge to try and give me an incentive to do this.

One thought on “2016: The Year-End Book Survey

Leave a Reply

