The Greek Mythology Book Tag

Thank you to Cristina of My Tiny Obsessions for tagging me for the Greek Mythology Book Tag. Let’s get started…

ZEUS (JUPITER): GOD OF THE SKY AND THUNDER / KING OF THE GODS

Favorite book (choose your own category!)

Always a hard category, there are SO many books to choose from, so I’m going to limit myself to books that I’ve read this year. Even doing that there’s no way I can settle for just one so I’ll go for The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry, Uprooted by Naomi Novik and Fellside by M. R. Carey.

POSEIDON (NEPTUNE): GOD OF THE SEAS AND EARTHQUAKES

Book that drowned you in feels

The latter books of The Dark Tower series by Stephen King. When the lead characters met their various fates I was a mess. I had no idea whether that really was the end, and saying goodbye to them after a whole series read virtually back to back was NOT GOOD, but in the best possible way.

HADES (PLUTO): GOD OF THE UNDERWORLD

Favorite book with a dark / ominous plot

Fellside by M. R. Carey was pretty dark, and a really good read.

HERA (JUNO): GODDESS OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY

Cutest fictional couple

Claire and Jamie Fraser from the Outlander books by Diana Gabaldon. Thrown together by circumstance and necessity their relationship becomes genuine. They’re both such strong characters and would go to great lengths to protect each other.

ATHENA (MINERVA): GODDESS OF WISDOM, HANDICRAFT AND STRATEGIC WARFARE

Series with the best world-building

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin. I LOVE Westeros and the descriptions of all the different regions. I’m not a fan of hot weather, but Dorne sounds absolutely amazing in those books. I think my favourite location would be Winterfell where it’s colder. Winter is coming, after all!

APHRODITE (VENUS): GODDESS OF LOVE AND BEAUTY

Most beautiful cover on a 2016 release

EssexSerpent
The Essex Serpent
by Sarah Perry. I love the patterns and colours.
Uprooted
I also really like the cover on the paperback version of Uprooted by Naomi Novik too.

ARES (MARS): GOD OF WAR AND BLOODSHED

Most violent book you’ve ever read

I may need a little help here in picking out which book this happened in, but the battle scene and the death of the Red Viper in A Song of Ice and Fire was quite violent, made worse by the fact that I really liked the character and wanted to read more about him.

HEPHAESTUS (VULCAN): GOD OF BLACKSMITHS AND FIRE

Scorching hot swoon worthy character

Just one? Don’t limit me to just one.
The Dragon from Uprooted (I hoped him and Agnieszka would get together from the moment early on they collided on the stairway).

And Jamie Fraser from Outlander.

I also liked John Rookwood AKA The Fireman from Joe Hill’s book. (And it just occurred to me that this one actually is scorching hot; he can control the fire that should in theory burn him alive, and creates all manner of trickery from the flames).

ARTEMIS (DIANA): GODDESS OF THE HUNT AND VIRGINITY

Favorite Kick-Ass Heroine

Lisbeth Salander from the Millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson.

PHOEBUS APOLLO (APOLLO): GOD OF LIGHT AND HEALING

Sequel book that redeemed its series

Redeemed its series is taking it a bit far, because the whole Bill Hodges trilogy by Stephen King was really good, but I think I ended up with a greater appreciation of the characters and the team once I’d reached the end of End of Watch, which was so good it made me want to go right back to the beginning of Mr. Mercedes and start the trilogy all over again.

HERMES (MERCURY): MESSENGER GOD OF THIEVES AND COMMERCE

Book with the best message

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith usually delivers some wisdom in a very readable way. I really must start reading Precious and Grace soon.

HESTIA (VESTA): GODDESS OF THE HEARTH AND HOME

Book with the most relatable story

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. The characters in that story seemed so real, especially Cath.

DEMETER (CERES): GODDESS OF FERTILITY AND AGRICULTURE

Favorite bookish setting

Le Cirque des Rêves from The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.  Wouldn’t it be wonderful if it were a real place?

DIONYSUS (BACCHUS): GOD OF WINE AND CELEBRATION

2016 release you are most anticipating

As the year is almost over I’m going to do this looking back on the books I was eagerly awaiting…

Fellside by M. R. Carey. I loved The Girl with all the Gifts and wanted to see what the author wrote next.
The other two books I must mention are The Fireman by Joe Hill and End of Watch by Stephen King. I added both of those to my TBR list months before they were published.


I enjoyed writing that tag.  As always, if you’ve made it to the end of this post and haven’t already done this tag, feel free to join in.

One thought on “The Greek Mythology Book Tag

Leave a Reply

