Top Ten Tuesday – Recent TBR List Additions

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:   Books I’ve Added to my TBR List Lately


 The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking – This is a lovely, eye-catching little book which looks like it might be interesting, especially at this time of year.

Golden Hill by Francis Spufford – This historical fiction came with the most enthusiastic recommendation from a bookseller that I’ve ever had. She literally couldn’t say enough about the story, the characters, the writing. It left me with high expectations, so let’s see whether the book lives up to them…

Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon – I’m finally back into Outlander again and am reading the first book at the moment. I’m really enjoying it, despite having had a reading break, so I’m definitely going to carry on with the next one. I’ve already seen the tv series, so have an idea what the story will be about, but I love reading the books too.

Feedback by Mira Grant – I saw this one in the library and picked it up on impulse (because I cannot resist brand new library books). I haven’t actually read Feed yet (!!) so I’m not sure whether I’ll get around to reading this, or whether I’ll start at the very beginning. Either way, Mira Grant definitely makes my list this week.

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead – The underground railroad in this story is an actual real railway system, and Cora and Caesar use it to escape from slavery on a plantation.

The Trees by Ail Shaw – The first thing that caught my eye was the striking cover. The story features a world that becomes engulfed by a forest overnight. Sounds like it might be good.

Christmas Under the Stars by Karen Swan – I usually like to check out the latest from Karen Swan at this time of year.

Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery – I don’t know why but I’ve never read any of these stories and I think they’ll be a nice change from my usual reading.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber – I know this on isn’t out until early next year, but what I’ve seen around online about the story sounds fascinating. Magic, mystery and adventure? Count me in!


I can’t wait to get started reading some of these books.  Have you read any of the books on my list?  What have you added to your TBR lately?

32 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Recent TBR List Additions

  1. chucklesthescot says:

    Nice mixture of genres there! I like apocalypse, zombies, urban fantasy, horror and some Tudor historical fiction thrown in for a change! I haven’t read any of the books you mentioned but I might have to check out more details on Caraval…it sounds intriguing!

    Like

  2. Risa says:

    I must admit to ignorance of the titles on your list…save Anne of Green Gables. That is a beautiful series! The titles of the others sound very intriguing, though. I hope you find them all to be good reads!:D

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      They’re such long books, but what I’ve read so far I’ve enjoyed. I’m looking forward to the later stories when the Frasers go to America.
      Caraval sounds like just the kind of story I usually enjoy, so can’t wait to get a copy.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I’m looking forward to reading Anne as it’s a change from the usual sort of story I would choose. I can’t believe I never read it in childhood.
      Are you reading the first Outlander book? That’s the one I’m on, they’re SO long, but am definitely enjoying it.

      Like

  3. Florrie says:

    The Little Book of Hygge really does sound fab! I also want to read Anne of Green Gables (and the rest of the series), they sound like lovely stories! I’d like to watch the tv adaptations, too. I think I heard talks of an updated version? or maybe it has already been released.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I think you’re right that there’s going to be an unpdated version of Anne of Green Gables. I heard about it recently and that got me thinking that I’d never seen or read the original series or stories, so looking forward to giving them a try.

      Like

  4. Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard says:

    The Little Book of Hygge sounds interesting, and omigosh I’d love to read Anne of Green Gables for the first time again. (I know, it sounds ridiculous when you put it like that.) It’s one of my favorite books from my childhood; I’ve reread it (actually the whole series) at least 6 or 8 times.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kristilyn says:

    I read Anne of Green Gables last year and it was so good! I listened to the audiobook and it was a lot of fun. Yay for Dragonfly in Amber! I love it when I get on an Outlander kick.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I’m looking forward to reading Anne as I feel like I’ve missed out by not reading it before and everyone seems to love it.
      Outlander is so good, and I love long books, so that series will keep me occupied for quite a while I think 😀

      Like

  6. Lisa says:

    What a great list! I’ve also never read Anne of Green Gables, and I keep saying that I’m going to… so maybe I just finally need to make it happen. I love the Outlander series, and DiA is amazing. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      Anne of Green Gables seems to be a childhood classic so I don’t know how I missed out on it, but at least it’s still there to look forward to.
      Outlander is great, I love Jamie and Claire, so can’t wait to get into DiA and the rest of the series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

