Top Ten Tuesday – Books To Read If Your Book Club Likes Post-Apocalyptic Type Situations

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:   Books To Read If Your Book Club Likes _____________


 Top Ten Tuesday is going all Post-Apocalyptic here on Page and Tea this week. I love this type of against the odds tale, and hopefully some of these books would give a book club plenty to talk about.

The Books I’ve Read…

The Stand by Stephen King – I need to re-read this book some time. In The Stand the Captain Trips virus wipes out most of humanity, and those who are left find themselves drawn to two mysterious figures, Mother Abigail and the sinister Randall Flagg.

The Fireman by Joe Hill – Draco Incendia Trychophyton, or Dragonscale is the spore that brings about the end in Joe Hill’s story; causing people to literally set on fire, the world will burn. There are those who survive this fate though, learning to control the fire, only to discover that other threats still remain in this new world.

The Girl With All The Gifts by M. R. Carey – I may have mentioned this book once or twice before. I really enjoyed it. You can read my review, which does feature spoilers, but I won’t give anything away here.

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – A really well written story of a world affected by a flu outbreak. It features characters before and after the outbreak, and follows a group of travelling actors making their way in a new landscape.

The Passage by Justin Cronin – I believe there are two other books in this series. I enjoyed this one and will certainly check out The Twelve and The City of Mirrors.

The Books I Would Like To Read…

The End of the World Running Club by Adrian J. Walker – In this story the end of the world scenario is bought about by an asteroid strike and follows a man trying to find his family.

Feed by Mira Grant – I’ve seen so much praise for this series at the moment. It seems everyone but me has read it but me, so I really must give it a try.

The Walking Dead series by Robert Kirkman et al. – I’ve seen a few of the tv series but never checked out any of the graphic novels or stories.

The Strain by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan – Again, I saw the first of the tv series, so I really should check out the book. If you fancy your post-apocalypse care of a vampiric virus this story may be worth a try. Be warned though, there’s nothing attractive about these particular vampires.

The Trees by Ali Shaw – I saw this in the bookstore last week and as happens so often, my attention was caught by an eye-catching cover. It’s a tale about what happens when a forest engulfs the world overnight, and sounds like it might be worth a read.


Have you read any of the books on my list?  If so, what did you think of them?
What would you recommend for book clubs reads?  As always, let me know in the comments.

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books To Read If Your Book Club Likes Post-Apocalyptic Type Situations

  1. Greg Hill says:

    Ooh post apoc- very nice. Would love to read some of that in a book club. Sad that I haven’t read any of these! Although I watch the Walking Dead, but nope haven’t read the comic. Feed (and Mira Grant in general) I’ve heard lots of good about, and End of the World Running Club sounds like one I would like too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      If the Walking Dead books are as good as the tv show they’re probably really good 🙂
      I must read Feed – I saw Feedback in the library the other day but not sure it would be a good idea to read them out of order.

      Like

  2. Amanda says:

    great list! The Girl with All the Gifts would be a really interesting book club book I think. I’m obsessed with Feed so I encourage you to push that up your list! I think the Scorpion Rules would be another good one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks 🙂
      I think the ending of The Girl With All the Gifts would probably be a good talking point.
      Have you read the rest of the Newsflesh books too? Will have to put Feed to the top of my TBR because I’ve been meaning to read it for so long!
      I’ve not heard of the Scorpion Rules so thanks for the rec.

      Like

      • Amanda says:

        Oh yes – totally obsessed with the Newsflesh series and basically most of her books. Once you finish Feed you’re going to really want to keep going! (I hope!)

        Like

Leave a Reply

