Top Ten Tuesday – Halloween 2016 Edition

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:   Halloween Related Freebie


I’m going for a mixture of everything Halloween related for this week’s topic, from books to movies and tv shows.  Some of these I’ve already read/watched, and some are new-to-me. Enjoy…

Books

It may be a little predictable, but Stephen King is making more than one appearance on my list. In fact, the first three to feature are all by this author:

The Shining – Room 217. Need I say more? Years after I first read this book I still remember how scary I found that one particular scene.

The Dark Tower series – This fantasy series has a bit of everything – heroes, villains, monsters, alternate worlds.

IT – Imagine your worst fear. Then imagine a monster that can take the form of your worst fear. Scary stuff.

NOS4R2 by Joe Hill – I read my first Joe Hill recently, The Fireman, and would definitely read another of his books. I’ve heard good things about this vampire tale, so what better time of year to give it a try?

Dracula by Bram Stoker – I love the creepy atmosphere during the first part of the novel, especially the scene where the ghostly ship arrives in Whitby.

Movies/Shows

The Addams Family

Addams Family Values

Hocus Pocus

Practical Magic

The Walking Dead (TV Series)


I’m always ready for new recommendations featuring this kind of theme, so feel free to tell me your Halloween/spooky/gothic favourites in reading and viewing.

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Halloween 2016 Edition

  1. thesassygeek says:

    I love Dracula too it does have a creepy atmosphere which is quite the accomplishment since it’s an old book that we would still find it creepy even today! Also Hocus Pocus is one of my all time favorite Halloween movies! Great list!:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      I think the opening and the first part of Dracula are SO atmospheric, it’s really great.
      I’ve lost count how many times I’ve watched Hocus Pocus over the years – it never gets old. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lry93 says:

    I seriously need to do a catch up on TWD… I got up until the end of the second series and I didn’t watch anymore!! I may just have to start from the beginning and do a binge!!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I can’t believe that I’ve never actually seen the movie of The Shining, I must give it a try. The book is great.
      I remember seeing the beginning of the It movie as a kid and it scared me silly 🙂 Watched it again recently and it’s still pretty creepy.
      I absolutely loved 11/22/63 and the links to It made me get that book straight away because I couldn’t remember whether i’d read it or not but the characters seemed familiar. It turned out to be one of my fave Stephen King books.

      Like

  3. Greg Hill says:

    Dracula is a good one. And love The Walking Dead, although they’re freaking me out with the new season. I haven’t seen the premiere but heard all the things. Yikes.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I’ve only watched 4 seasons of TWD but have seen ALL the spoilers, they’re so hard to avoid online. I thought the Governer was bad but this Negan character sounds pretty horrific too.

      Like

  4. literaryhues says:

    There’s something about zombie stories which I absolutely love. World War Z, Rot and Ruin, The Walking Dead. I’ve seen a Korean zombie film lately called Train to Busan too, and it was so good!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I do love a good zombie story 🙂 Is there a book of World War Z too? I saw the movie and really enjoyed it.
      Haven’t heard of Rot and Ruin so might have to check that one out.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

