Booking Ahead: August 2016

Booking Ahead is a new feature here on Pages and Tea where I glance through my never-ending TBR list/pile and select a few potential reads for the coming month. If I’m not reading books I love talking about books I’d like to read, so this post is a perfect excuse to do just that.

The beginning of a new month can only mean one thing here on Pages and Tea.. It’s time to talk once again about the books I have my eye on and hope to read during the coming month.

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry – I was drawn to this one in the bookstore based on the cover alone in the first instance, because it’s really striking, but a quick glance at the synopsis left me convinced I needed to give it a try. I’m in the mood for a historical novel at the moment, and the description of the relationship between the two protagonists sounds interesting.

The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher – Fantasy! I love a regular return to the fantasy genre. It’s still quite new for me and I enjoy finding new-too-me authors to check out. I’ve read many good reviews for this book, and have possibly read something about talking cats (!?) somewhere along the way? Sounds good. I can’t even remember how long ago I requested this one from the library, so I was really pleased when this gorgeous brand new paperback turned up for me on my last visit.

The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler – I read that this novel is one for fans of the Night Circus. That’s me! In fact, the Night Circus in currently sitting on my TBR pile even though I’ve already read it once. No idea when I’ll actually get around to a re-read when I have so many new books to read too, but it will happen one day. Anyway, if this story is anything like that one then I should be in for a great read. A story of books and mysteries and a possible curse, and featuring a librarian as the main character? Sounds like a good start.


What are you planning to read this month? Have you read any of my choices and if so which would you recommend?

One thought on “Booking Ahead: August 2016

Leave a Reply

