Top Ten Tuesday – Books Set Outside The US

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:   Top Ten Books Set Outside The US


Saw this topic and thought I’d have a go, which made me realise it’s actually quite difficult, because several of the books that first came to my mind certainly are set in the US! Anyway, here are a few stories that feature other locations…

Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling – Britain – I don’t think this series really needs any further introduction!

Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin – Westeros – I had to feature at least one (or maybe two) fantasy worlds in this post, didn’t I?

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – France/Germany – Beautifully written story of two seemingly unrelated characters who eventually cross paths during WW2 in Saint-Malo.

The Girl With All The Gifts by M. R. Carey – Britain – Not going to give too much away about this one for those who haven’t read it yet, but it’s a great read.

Dark Matter by Michelle Paver – The Arctic – A ghost story set out in the icy wilderness.

The Lake House by Kate Morton – Cornwall – I’ve just started reading this book, so can’t say too much about it yet, but I’m enjoying it.

The Millenium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson – Sweden – Crime trilogy featuring computer hacker Lisbeth Salander and journalist Mikael Blomkvist.

Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon – Scotland – Time travel series in which Claire is transported to the Scottish highlands in the 1740s where she becomes involved with a local clan and eventually finds herself leading two lives, the one she left behind, and the one she builds in the past.

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith – Botswana – This gentle series of tales centres around the leisurely adventures of Mma Ramotswe, the detective of the title, and her assistant Mma Makutse, as they take on cases of varying natures, large and small. I always feel like reading one of these tales is like a breath of fresh air.

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – France – I haven’t actually read this one yet but I will get around to it one day, I hope!


Have you read any of these books, or can you recommend any great reads I may have missed out on?  As always, feel free to comment and leave me a link to your TTT post!

32 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books Set Outside The US

    • pagesandtea says:

      I really like the first Outlander book so far, so I’ll stick with the series. The Girl With All The Gifts is SO GOOD 🙂 I’ll definitely get around to Les Mis one day. I can’t seem to stop reading massive books though so who knows when that will be 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Great list! The only one I’ve read from this list is (unsurprisingly) Harry Potter, but All The Light We Cannot See is on my TBR, haha. People have been telling me how beautiful it is, but I feel like it’s one of those novels you have to be in the right mood to fully appreciate, so I’m kind of holding off for that perfect mood.

    Here’s my TTT. 🙂

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks 🙂 All The Light We Cannot See really is a great story and wonderfully written but you’re right, it’s probably best to wait until you’re in the right mood to appreciate it.
      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      This is the second Kate Morton I’ve read, the first was The House at Riverton, which I read a few years ago. I love the locations used in the stories, and the way the different time periods weave together to make the whole story.

      Like

  2. Jess I. says:

    The only book we have in common is Harry Potter! The rest I haven’t read, but Game of Thrones and All the Light We Cannot See are both on my TBR. I’ve heard that if I liked The Book Thief then ATLWCS is a perfect read for me. Hopefully it lives up to the hype!

    Jess @ POB!

    Like

  3. mphadventuregirl says:

    Harry Potter and Les Misérables. Read Harry Potter when I was young and read Les Misérables. I read Les Mis twice (2013: abridged, 2015: unabridged). The unabridged is so much better than the abridged version of that book. Les Mis is such a masterpiece in so many ways and is quite special to me

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I have the unabridged version. Is there much difference between the abridged and unabridged? I think I would wonder what I was missing if I went for the abridged version then end up reading the longer one as well 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

