The Spring Has Sprung Book Tag

Here’s something new on my blog – a Book Tag.
Thanks to Cristina from My Tiny Obsessions for tagging me for this.

1. FLOWERS: LOOK ON YOUR BOOKSHELVES. WHAT IS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK BOTH INSIDE AND OUT?

I’m going to slightly change this one, because by far the most beautiful book outside, and the one that several people commented on for the cover alone when I borrowed it from the library was The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley. I don’t think I’ve ever had so many comments about a book cover before, and it was certainly very striking. It’s also a really good story.

Watchmaker

2. GRASS: WHAT IS A BOOK THAT YOU FIND THAT OTHERS LIKE WAY MORE THAN YOU DO?

A book that’s come back into my mind recently is Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.
I read this book at school and everyone seemed enthralled with Heathcliff and thinking his story and character was romantic. Very little about him struck me as romantic at the time, and I was wondering whether to revisit the book sometime  to see what I make of it now.

3. RAIN: WHAT’S A GREAT BOOK THAT LIFTS YOUR SPIRITS WHEN YOU’RE DOWN?

Any of the Jeeves books by P. G. Wodehouse.
Picking up a Jeeves story is almost certain to guarantee me at least one episode of laughing until there are tears in my eyes.

4. DEW: WHAT’S A BOOK THAT MADE YOU FEEL ALIVE?

Hm, tricky question, but I’m going for The Girl With All The Gifts by M. R. Carey. Even though it’s a while since I finished that book I still remember so much about it, and about experiencing it for the first time, if that makes sense. It stayed with me. (Also, M. R. Carey’s new book, Fellside, is proving to be a good read too).

5. STORMS: WHAT’S A BOOK THAT YOU FOUND UNPREDICTABLE?

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I KNEW there was a twist when I picked this book up.  I thought I was reading SO carefully, trying to spot what it might be and what was going to happen. I totally failed. I never saw THAT coming at all, and the book was all the better for it.

6. RAINBOW: WHAT WAS A BOOK THAT YOU STRUGGLED WITH, ONLY TO BE HAPPY THAT YOU READ IT IN THE END?

I just remembered… the first time I tried to read Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin I was intimidated by the strange names/characters/setting/everything, so I gave up.
Some time later I decided to try it again. I AM SO GLAD I DID!
Several thousand pages and several books later I’m now a fan and can’t wait for The Winds of Winter.

7. CHILLY WEATHER: WHAT’S A BOOK THAT YOU COULDN’T FINISH OR DIDN’T ENJOY?

It’s been a long time since I put a book down because I wasn’t enjoying it. I know there was at least one that for some reason I carried on with even though it wasn’t great. Am gonna have to go back to GR to see if I can remember what it was.

8. WARM WEATHER: WHAT’S A BOOK THAT YOU LOVED AND WANTED MORE OF?

The Diviners by Libba Bray. There were so many great things about The Diviners that I was sad to reach the end of the book.

9. GREEN: WHAT’S A BOOK THAT YOU HAVEN’T READ YET, BUT REALLY WANT TO?

Uprooted by Naomi Novik. I finally got a beautiful new copy from the library but it arrived just as I’m in the middle of another read, so it will have to wait a while longer. Am definitely looking forward to starting it.

10. PINK: WHAT’S A BOOK IN WHICH YOU FELT A STRONG CONNECTION TO THE CHARACTERS?

I liked Cath from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell a lot. I loved the way she escaped into her writing and was so involved with the world of Simon and Baz.

11. PURPLE: WHAT’S A BOOK THAT WHEN YOU READ IT, YOU FEEL SAFE?

Not sure if I get this question but I’d say the first Harry Potter book. I love the wondrous discovery that there’s this whole magical world and a place as fantastic as Hogwarts where Harry can escape his regular life and become so much more than the Dursleys’ let him be. I love watching the friendships develop, and meeting all my favourite characters for the first time before things start to become darker in later books.

12. ORANGE: WHAT BOOK DO YOU FEEL IS INTELLIGENTLY WRITTEN?

I really like the way Stephen King’s books sometimes overlap, and draw on his other works. I always find myself wanting to read something else by him after seeing it referenced in whichever of his books I happen to be reading. I read 11/22/63 and some of the characters from IT briefly featured, which made me curious about IT and made me pick it up almost straight after finishing 11/22/63.

13. YELLOW: WHAT BOOK PUTS A SMILE ON YOUR FACE?

Anything by P. G Wodehouse, especially the Jeeves series.


And that completes my first (in a while) Book Tag (there will be more!).  Not sure who to tag for this so feel free to have a go if you happen to have read my attempt.  Let me know where to find your entry and I’ll check it out.

Until next time…

3 thoughts on “The Spring Has Sprung Book Tag

Leave a Reply

