Booking Ahead: July 2016

Booking Ahead is a new feature here on Pages and Tea where I glance through my never-ending TBR list/pile and select a few potential reads for the coming month. If I’m not reading books I love talking about books I’d like to read, so this post is a perfect excuse to do just that.

It’s time for another glance at my TBR pile to pick out some potential reads for July. I absolutely love my library, and turn to them for so much of my reading material but when it came to my picks for my June reading they weren’t their usual prompt selves so it was only right at the end of June that I got my hands on two of the books I was so looking forward to reading. For that reason, they take pride of place right at the beginning of my list for July. Here’s a reminder…

The Fireman by Joe Hill – A story of survival at the end of the world? Count me in. I’ve read a lot of praise for Joe Hill but I’ve never read any of his stories, so I’m looking forward to discovering a new-to-me author. This is a pretty massive book, so will probably keep me busy reading for quite a lot of this month.

End of Watch by Stephen King – The next book in the Bill Hodges trilogy. I HAVE to find out just what Brady Hartsfield is up to, because the way the last book concluded gave me high hopes for the final instalment. Apparently things might be about to get a little bit supernatural and I can‘t wait to find out what happens.

And for new selections…

The Lake House by Kate Morton – Have actually already started this one, and so far I’m really enjoying it. I remember reading The House at Riverton a few years back and I enjoyed that too. I just fancied something a bit different from my usual reading fare and this book caught my eye at the library (calling in to see whether the other books above had arrived for me yet! They hadn’t, so I came away with this one instead).

Uprooted by Naomi Novik – I’ve wanted to read this one for a while, it sounds fascinating. I also have the first Temeraire book somewhere by the same author, but I believe this is a standalone story so thought I’d check it out first.


Are there any books you really hope to read this month? Have you read any of my choices and if so which would you recommend?

One thought on “Booking Ahead: July 2016

Leave a Reply

