Booking Ahead: May 2016

Booking Ahead is a new feature here on Pages and Tea where I glance through my never-ending TBR list/pile and select a few potential reads for the coming month. If I’m not reading books I love talking about books I’d like to read, so this post is a perfect excuse to do just that.

It’s time for another glance at my TBR pile to pick out a few potential reads for this month. Bout of Books takes place in a few days time, so I want some great books to read throughout the readathon.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon – One of the books I already own has made the list this month! The arrival of the new tv series has prompted me into wanting to read the book series. I think I may have started Outlander once before, but can’t imagine why I didn’t read it all the way through, so I might be mistaken but having enjoyed series 1 on tv I definitely want to give the book a try.

Reader, I Married Him edited by Tracy Chevalier – This is a collection of stories inspired by Jane Eyre. Jane Eyre is one of my favourite classic novels, so I just couldn’t pass up this book. I think when I’ve read it I might be tempted to re-read the original novel again, even though I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve already read it.

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – Quite a few people have read and recommended this book to me.

Honourable Mentions…

The Double Life of Mistress Kit Kavanagh by Marina Fiorato – The cover of this book caught my eye while I was at the library and the story, a woman who disguises herself as a man and goes off to war, sounds quite intriguing, so I checked the book out and bought it home.


Are there any books you really hope to read this month, and do you have any particular reads saved for Bout of Books? Have you read any of my choices and if so which would you recommend?

3 thoughts on “Booking Ahead: May 2016

Leave a Reply

