Top Ten Tuesday – My Spring TBR List

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:   Top Ten Books on my Spring TBR List


I can’t believe we’re talking Spring TBR already, it doesn’t seem five minutes since Christmas and New Year! That aside, as usual my TBR list/pile is predictably huge, and becoming even more excessive as I’ve started using the library ebook service, but here are a few of my reading selections for the coming few weeks…

The Autumn Republic by Brian McClellan – This is the third book in the Powder Mage trilogy. I read Promise of Blood and The Crimson Campaign earlier this year and I can’t wait to find out how the whole saga ends. There are so many great characters and storylines going on in these books, and I love the magic system too.

The Lady in the Van by Alan Bennett – Have selected this one based mostly on the movie trailer. I still haven’t seen the movie yet, but it looks really good so I’m happy to give the book a try too. By the time I get around the reading this I’ll probably have watched the film too, so it will be interesting to compare the two.

The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick – I watched the recent series and that made me eager to see how it compares to the book.

The Living and the Dead in Winsford by Håkan Nesser – A new-to-me author whose book caught my eye when I was browsing about for something different to read.

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie – I’ve still not read anything by Agatha Christie, so when I came across this book on the library ebook system I put in a request and am looking forward to reading it.

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel – This one has probably made it onto a similar themed blog post before, and for some reason I still haven’t managed to read it. I put it onto my TBR list after loving the BBC series, but by the time I actually get around to reading it I’ll probably want to rewatch the series again as well!

Snow Blind by Ragnar Jonasson – Icelandic crime/mystery story. It sounds intriguing and similar to a tv show I watched recently.

The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May – The sequel to The Falconer, which I enjoyed, so hopefully this will be a great read too.

Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling series re-read – I’ve only read the Harry Potter books once, and I think it’s time to revisit Hogwarts, so hopefully I’ll get started on some of these books over Spring.

The Little Flower Shop by the Sea by Ali McNamara – This is probably the only Spring(ish) themed book that made my list. After some heavy reading this one should provide a little light relief, and I can’t wait for a decent Spring afternoon to hopefully sit outside and enjoy a good read.


So many books, so little time! Have you read any of the book s on my list? Which would you recommend, or do you have other books you can’t wait to read? As always, let me know in the comments.

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – My Spring TBR List

  1. Greg Hill says:

    I haven’t read much Christie but I did watch Part 1 of the And Then there Were None adaptation on Lifetime- I haven’t seen Part 2 yet. And I never read The falconer either, although I was going to- I remember when that one came out. Nice to know the sequel is, or will be. I’ll have to look at those again…

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I watched And Then There Were None too and really enjoyed it. I was actually glad I hadn’t read the book because it added to the suspense, not knowing what was going to happen, and I never guessed how it would all turn out. Hope the book is as good.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I can’t believe I’ve only read the whole series once, as it was being published. I can’t wait to get back to the story right from the beginning and go through it all over again 🙂

      Like

  2. sprite says:

    I read And Then There Were None in middle school and was so creeped out by it that I refused to read/watch any Christie for decades. I’m past it now (mostly), but it still sends shivers up my arms!

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    I finally read And Then There Were None this year (my first Christie!) and really enjoyed it. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of The Man in the High Castle. I read it after watching the TV series — they’re very different! I really loved Wolf Hall, but haven’t watched the TV version (and I really need to). Enjoy your spring reading!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      And Then There Were None will be my first Christie too. I can’t believe I’ve never read any before.
      I enjoyed the TV series of Man in the High Castle so looking forward to finding out how the book compares.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

