Booking Ahead: February 2016

Booking Ahead is a new feature here on Pages and Tea where I glance through my never-ending TBR list/pile and select a few potential reads for the coming month. If I’m not reading books I love talking about books I’d like to read, so this post is a perfect excuse to do just that.

The Crimson Campaign by Brian McClellan – This is the second of the Powder Mage trilogy and the book I’m currently reading at the moment. I’ve only just started it but so far it’s just as good as Promise of Blood, so I can’t wait to settle down for a long reading session over the weekend with this book.

Welcome to Night Vale by Jeffrey Cranor and Joseph Fink – This book has such a catchy cover. If I knew nothing at all about Night Vale I would probably have picked this book up in the bookshop based solely on the cover. I’d listened to a few episodes of the Welcome to Night Vale podcast before I had any idea there was going to be a book. It’s so different that I can’t help but want to read a book based in this desert community where the bizarre is everyday.

The Emperor’s Soul by Brandon Sanderson – I’ve had the Mistborn series on my TBR list for so long now, and I really will get around to starting it, but on a recent visit to the library I happened to see this novella just waiting on the shelves so I just couldn’t resist. I believe it’s a stand-alone story, so I thought it would give me chance to start reading something from a new-to-me author.

The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine by Alexander McCall Smith – For some light relief I might try to find time to pay a visit to the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency.


Are there any books you really hope to read this month? Have you read any of my choices and if so which would you recommend?

One thought on “Booking Ahead: February 2016

Leave a Reply

