Top Ten Tuesday – TBR Recent Additions

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:   Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR


Books I’ve recently added to my TBR? There’s no way I could miss out on this topic because my TBR list/pile is absolutely HUGE. The only difficultly in completing this is limiting my list to ten! So, here we go, ten books, some already available, some yet to be published that have gained a pile on my TBR in recent times…

The Autumn Republic by Brian McClellan – Anyone who visited my Bout of Books progress post will know how much I loved the first book in this series, and I’m about to start reading the second, The Crimson Campaign, so this one, the final of the trilogy definitely earns a place on my TBR list.

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers – I haven’t read much/any sci-fi up to now, and I wanted to add some variety to my reading this year.

A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab – I enjoyed A Darker Shade of Magic so much. I really hope the next book is as good as the first. Will definitely be reading this one.

The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine by Alexander McCall Smith – I love a visit to the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency. These gentle tales are a breath of fresh air for this reader.

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson – I saw A God in Ruins is out in paperback but decided I’d probably better read this book first.

Red Rising by Pierce Brown – I actually bought this book a while ago and never got around to reading it, but it seems to be a much talked about series at the moment so I thought I’d put this one back on my TBR pile.

The Emperor’s Soul by Brandon Sanderson – Happened upon this book whilst at the library over the weekend. I’ve never read anything by this author, so this novella seemed as good a place to begin as any. It sounds great.

Children of Earth and Sky by Guy Gavriel Kay – Another new-to-me author, and a book I’ll have to wait a while for yet as it’s out later this year, but what I’ve read about it so far sounds intriguing.

The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher – And a final list entry from another new-to-me author.

End of Watch by Stephen King – I think the conclusion to the Bill Hodges trilogy is going to be great, so this book definitely earns a spot on my list.


 

Which books have you added to your TBR lately? Have you read any that made my list?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – TBR Recent Additions

    • pagesandtea says:

      Life After Life is one of those books people in rl have stopped asking me whether I’ve read it yet because they’ve been asking for so long 🙂 I really will read it this year because I feel like I’m probably missing out on a great book.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Kathleen says:

    Fantasy mutt here too! Do add Brandon Sanderson’s Warbreaker and Mistborn trilogy too. They’re awesome!

    Red Rising is all abuzz now because the last book is coming out next month. But it is a good read albeit the protagonist is a bit of a MarySue.

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    I loved The Aeronaut’s Windlass! Jim Butcher is one of my favorites. I just ordered a copy of Small Angry Planet, and I’m really looking forward to it – I’ve heard such good things. I’ve only read one of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective books, but at my library’s big sale last year I picked up a bunch more. They do feel like nice books to treat myself with. 🙂

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Am looking forward to discovering a new author in Jim Butcher, and Windlass sounds amazing.
      I love the Detective Agency books when I fancy a comfort read, they’re so different from my usual reading choices 🙂

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Do you have any particular favourites? The new book caught my attention when the gorgeous cover was revealed but it’s still a few months away yet so perhaps I could read another of his before then 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

