Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Hoped To Read In 2015

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:   Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t


There were SO many books I hoped to read last year but somehow I never found the time to get around to them, so here is just a selection of them. Not all of them were 2015 releases, I don’t think, but I intended to read them during 2015 and will hopefully read at least some of them this year.

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch – I can’t even remember how long I’ve had this book on my e-reader, and I definitely want to give it a go during 2016. The only excuse I cant think of is that I tend my read my library books first because they have to be due back by a certain date so my own books tend to get pushed aside, and yet every time I see this book mentioned online it’s always with high praise.

Thief’s Magic by Trudi Canavan – I’ve never read anything by this author and this one caught my eye on a visit to the library. I think the second book has been published by now too, so hopefully that will be another one to read during 2016.

Welcome to Night Vale by Jeffrey Cranor and Joseph Fink – I started listening to the podcast a while back so when I realised there was a novel too I became curious.

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel – I added this one to my TBR after I watched the wonderful BBC tv series with Mark Rylance. I’d attempted to read it before and gave up for some reason, but watching that series really made me want to give the book another go because I thought it was brilliant.

The Watchers by Neil Spring – I read The Ghost Hunters and enjoyed it so I’d like to give the author’s next book a try.

A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George R. R. Martin – Another offering from an author I really enjoy, I simply must get around to reading this book.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell – Simon and Baz and their adventures at school, how could I possibly resist this one after falling for Fangirl?

The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May – The Falconer was very good, so I hope this sequel will be just as enjoyable.

Half the World by Joe Abercrombie – I really enjoyed Half a King and had planned to read the rest of the series.

Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson – I see a lot of love for this series online and I do have the first book on my TBR list.


Have you read any of my picks? Which should I put right to the top of by TBR?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Hoped To Read In 2015

  1. Angelya (@oakenbookcase) says:

    So much fantasy – love it! I def recommend Locke Lamora.. the fourth book is out during this year and I can’t wait 🙂 I’m actually reading Carry On at the moment and am loving it! If you loved Fangirl then you’ll enjoy this one too.

    Like

  2. Crini says:

    OMG, I kind of want to MAKE you read some of these right this second! haha
    LOCKE LAMORA AND MISTBORN!!!!! Both one of the best fantasy books I’ve ever read! I’m actually re-reading the Mistborn books right now. SO MUCH PAIN BUT SO GOOD!

    Half the World is great too, the first book in the series will always be my favorite in the series though.

    I’ve been meaning to listen to the Welcome to Night Vale podcast for a while now but I’m not doing really good with audiobooks and podcasts. It always takes me forever to get through them. It’s exciting though that Welcome to Night Vale also has a book out.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      🙂 Locke Lamora and Mistborn are definitely ones to put at the top of my TBR pile then? Mistborn must be really good if you’re re-reading the series.

      The Night Vale podcast is brilliantly bizarre, so I hope the books is as good. I don’t tend to do audiobooks very much either, I find my attention seems to wander and I end up needing to go back and re-listen, but the podcast holds my attention much easier. Am thinking of trying audiobooks again sometime this year, maybe… 🙂

      Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Carry On is on my list this week too. Must get to it! I had to laugh about The Lies of Locke Lamora — it’s been on my Kindle forever as well, and I do really want to read it… sometime. I loved Wolf Hall. Hope you enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

