Bout of Books 15 (January 2016) Goals and Daily Progress Updates

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 4th and runs through Sunday, January 10th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 15 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

It’s that time again – Bout of Books 15 is here!

I love starting a new year of reading with a good Read-A-Thon. Towards the end of last year my reading was SO slow. I’m hoping to pick out some really great reads for this event and make a good start to this new reading year.

I’ll be using this blog for the majority of my updates during the read-a-thon, but you can also find me on Twitter (link in the sidebar).


Time Devoted to Reading

I’ll say my usual half an hour as a minimum, but hopefully this will be a LOT more.

My Goals

  • To start reading Promise of Blood
  • To keep track of my reading progress via daily blog updates
  • To visit other blogs and comment more regularly

Books to Read

Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan

Updates

Monday

Okay, let’s read. I’m so ready for a new year of reading, and have picked out what I hope is going to be a great book for this event. I’ve had Promise of Blood on my TBR pile for a while and kept thinking I would save it until the new year, so now I’m about to find out.
Happy reading!

Tuesday (Monday’s Progress)

I think I made the right choice with my book!  I was hooked from the first page.  It started out in the midst of action and there seems to be no let up so far.  It’s the first book in a trilogy and I’ve already checked that the library have the next one (they do!).  I also really like the fact that the books are all already published, so I could just read through the whole trilogy one after another if I wanted to.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  50
Total number of pages I’ve read:  50

Wednesday (Tuesday’s progress)

I am so drawn in to Promise of Blood.  I have a really vivid picture of some of the characters and was curious if there was any art online, just to see what other people made of them.  I had just started searching when info about future plot events caught my eye and I realised how close I’d come to potentially big spoilers.  I hadn’t seen anything crucial so decided maybe it wasn’t such a good idea after all!

Number of pages I’ve read today:  50
Total number of pages I’ve read:  100

Thursday (Wednesday’s progress)

I’ve requested The Crimson Campaign from the library. I was hoping to read a couple of my own books when I’d finished Promise of Blood but I don’t want to wait to find out what happens next, so I think I’ll carry on with the series.
Had a really good, long reading session this afternoon which was great.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  100
Total number of pages I’ve read:  200

Friday (Thursday’s progress)

This book… I want to tell you EVERYTHING about this book, but I know I can’t because that wouldn’t be fair, revealing spoilers. It’s SO GOOD though. So many great characters with different powers and skills, and they’re all getting into such situations. Okay, I’ll stop now.
How is the readathon going for you? Have you read anything really good?

Number of pages I’ve read today:  70
Total number of books I’ve read:  270

Saturday (Friday’s progress)

I love my local library – I got a message today that The Crimson Campaign had arrived so of course I went straight down to collect the book.  I really did intend to read at least a couple of books from my TBR pile first but what are the chances that that’s going to happen?  I would say pretty low.  I will get to them eventually, honestly…

Number of pages I’ve read today:  50
Total number of pages I’ve read:  320

Sunday (Saturday’s progress)

Today’s been my slowest day for reading, or the day when I’ve had least time to read.  I managed to get virtually nothing read at all, so am hoping for a final great reading session on the last day of Bout of Books to make up for it.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  0
Total number of pages I’ve read:  320

Monday (Sunday’s progress and final thoughts)

Posted Here.

13 thoughts on “Bout of Books 15 (January 2016) Goals and Daily Progress Updates

Leave a Reply

