2015: The Year-End Book Survey

This Year End Survey is hosted by Jamie over at The Perpetual Page Turner.

I love the opportunity to look back over the last year of reading. I think I’ve read the least number of books this year that I’ve read in a long time, but looking back should still be fun.
This will probably be one of my final posts of 2015, so I hope everyone enjoys the holidays and I’ll be back in 2016 for more bookish blogging. See you then!

2015 Reading Stats

Number of books you read: 30

Re-Reads: 0

Most Popular Genre: Fantasy

Best in Books

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley
The Falcon Throne by Karen Miller
and both of the Oversight books by Charlie Fletcher.

I read so many great books this year that it’s hard to choose just one or two.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

I don’t think there has been anything that stands out as a let down really.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2015?

The Ship by Antonia Honeywell was a great read with some surprises and twists along the way.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2015?

Ha, totally failed on this front. Someone did take The Watchmaker… but I don’t think they have given it a go yet.

5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?

There were a few great series starters including The Falcon Throne by Karen Miller (I can’t wait to get back to that world in future books) and A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab.
The Paradox by Charlie Fletcher was the best sequel, and I’m really excited for the final book.  I also really enjoyed the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning.
Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo is probably the only series ender I read this year and I did enjoy it.

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

Karen Miller, Charlie Fletcher, Natasha Pulley.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Hm, nothing instantly comes to mind for this, which makes me wonder whether 2015 was a year of staying firmly in my comfort zone whilst reading?

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

For action-packed I would say I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes.  for unputdownable I would probably go for The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins.

9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

I doubt I’ll re-read something from my 2015 list as I really want to do a Harry Potter re-read, and I wouldn’t mind re-reading The Dark Tower by Stephen King either, so if I do any re-reading it likely be some of those books.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book and have so many people comment on what a beautiful and unusual cover it had.

11. Most memorable character of 2015?

Katsu the clockwork octopus from The Watchmaker of Filigree Street. I don’t care that he’s not human, or even alive essentially, he was a total scene stealer.
I also really like all the members of the Last Hand of the Oversight, especially Sara Falk and Jack Sharp, oh and Cook and Ida.
And I must give a mention to the Darkling and Nikolai from the Grisha trilogy too.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

I love the witty writing of P. G. Wodehouse so for this one I’ll pick Very Good, Jeeves.  His expressions are fantastic and the scenes he describes are so easily bought to life in the imagination.

13.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?

According to Goodreads I Am Pilgrim was the longest book I read at 912 pages, but The Falcon Throne was pretty long too.
The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami was the shortest book I read.

14. Book That Shocked You The Most

There was a twist at the end of The Incarnations by Susan Barker that I must admit I never saw coming.

15. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Sara Falk and Mr Sharp from The Paradox.

16. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Katsu’s interactions with absolutely everyone in The Watchmaker of Filigree Street were a real highlight of the book, especially with Thaniel when Katsu kept stealing socks and got imprisoned in the drawer only to break free.

17. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Salem’s Lot by Stephen King.

18. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo. Everyone seems to have read the Grisha trilogy, and I really enjoyed the first two books, so it didn’t really take much convincing to get me to read the final instalment.

19. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

Talking of the Grisha books, I loved Nikolai.
I also really liked Mr. Sharp and The Smith from Charlie Fletcher’s The Paradox.
Jericho Barrons and V’Lane from the Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning have to be included here too.

20. Best 2015 debut you read?

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley.

21. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

The Falcon Throne had a varied world and I also really like the world building in both The Paradox by Charlie Fletcher and A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

22. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Definitely the P. G. Wodehouse, Very Good, Jeeves. I love the humour in the Jeeves books.

23. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley was a unique read.

Your Blogging/Bookish Life

1. Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?

I’ve been SO bad in keeping up with reviews this year but have mostly caught up now and will be posting some new reviews to my blog in the new year.

2. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

I guess my readathon updates posts are the ones I have the most fun writing. I enjoy committing to making daily progress updates for the short time the readathon is on, and I enjoy finding new blogs through the link ups.

3. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I love readathons, all of them, so going to have to say Trees of Reverie and Bout of Books.

4. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?

Taking part in readathons knowing so many other people are doing the same thing and finding amazing new books to read by visiting blogs.

5. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Any review posts really.

6. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I signed up for a few challenges this year and while I did well in some of them the one I totally failed on was the TBR pile challenge. Apparently I don’t ever get around to reading books that I actually own, but give me a library book and it will certainly get read. I really must try and read more of my own books next year.

Looking Ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?

Just one? Have several – Promise of Blood, A Court of Thorns and Roses, Half a War, Wolf Hall, Welcome to Night Vale, A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms. The list goes on and on and on…

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?

A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab and End of Watch by Stephen King.

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I don’t know, but if you have any recommendations do please let me know.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?

The final book in the Bill Hodges trilogy, End of Watch by Stephen King. I have a feeling things are going to get a little bit supernatural, and I can’t wait to go along for the ride.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?

I want to try and read some of my own books.

I also want to add more new content and features on my blog, possibly talking about movies and tv shows alongside the books I’ve read.

7 thoughts on “2015: The Year-End Book Survey

  1. Sarah says:

    I’ve heard a lot about The Girl on the Train and the Grisha trilogy lately, think I’d better check out both in 2016. I quite like the look of both of them. And wow, The Watchmaker of Filligree Street looks gorgeous (just based on the cover!). I can see why it was your favourite. Another one I might take a look at… Anyway, great post! Hope you have a great 2016!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      The Girl on the Train is a great page turner, and I really enjoyed the Grisha trilogy too, so would definitely recommend them. The Watchmaker cover is definitely a work of art, and the story is so good.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      I didn’t realise until I did some reading challenges this year just how few of my own books ever seem to get read. Have put loads of my own books on my 2016 TBR so hopefully I’ll stick to it and actually read some of them 🙂

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      The illustrated Harry Potter book is so beautiful 🙂 I’ve only read the series once so it’s definitely time for a reread.
      Not too long to wait for A Gathering of Shadows, it sounds like it’s going to be great!
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

