R.I.P X – Peril on the Screen #1

ripnineperilscreen

 Welcome to my first Peril on the Screen update post. I’m hoping to make this a regular feature throughout R.I.P. X, so here goes with my first attempt.  I’ve been thinking about making more tv/movie themed entries on my blog for a while now, so maybe this will be the start of a new feature.

What have I been watching?

Stonehearst Asylum – This film is based on a short story by Edgar Allan Poe called ‘The System of Doctor Tarr and Professor Fether’. It follows a young doctor, who goes to work at Stonehearst Asylum for the clinically insane, where all is not as it first seems. The gothic setting is wonderful, and the story has many great twists and turns. I did guess one of the twists from watching the trailer, but this was revealed early on during the film anyway, and the latter revelations were brilliant – I never saw THAT coming at all. If you enjoy a good thriller with great characters and good twists this is one to check out.

Hemlock Grove Season 1 – This series brings together all manner of strange, bizarre and fantastical people and creatures and situates them all in the setting of Hemlock Grove. There’s a boy who may or may not be a werewolf, a pregnant girl who believes an angel fathered her child, a girl bought back from the dead, and then there’s Olivia Godfrey, who‘s definitely hiding something. Her back-story just started to develop towards the end of the series and I have a feeling we’ll learn more about her and the Godfrey family in season 2.
A murder brings fear to the community, and it’s just the first in a series of killings. As the investigation gets underway secrets about the inhabitants of Hemlock Grove are revealed, including whether or not one of the characters is in fact a werewolf, as spread around town through rumours.
There’s quite a lot going on in Hemlock Grove and it had moments of greatness, but then there were episodes which felt much slower-paced. I’ll probably move on to season 2 at some point, but think I’ll give some other new series a try before that.

Fortitude – When I set out watching this series I never dreamed it would end up in this type of blog post but what I imagined to be your usual type of crime drama took a particularly grisly twist about half way through and by the time I reached the closing scenes of the penultimate episode, half-watching and wondering ‘do I really want to see what’s about to happen?’ I was also thinking ‘yeah, this is definitely one for the R.I.P X list’. The series blends together crime, thriller, horror and sci-fi, so there’s a bit of everything in there. Definitely not what I expected when I first started watching but it wasn’t a bad series at all.

And what’s coming up?

American Horror Story – I’m a big fan of the AHS franchise and am eagerly awaiting the release of Freak Show on DVD. I love books/series with a carnival theme so am hoping this one will be good.

An Inspector Calls – The recent tv adapation is something I want to see. I can remember studying the play in school and I think I can remember the twist, but that doesn’t really matter.

The Addams Family – I used to love the movie when I was younger, and it’s the perfect time of year to watch it.  Will probably save this one until closer to Halloween, but it’s certainly due a re-watch.


So, have you watched anything suitably scary lately?
Or do you have any recommendations for things to watch as part of R.I.P X?
As always, let me know in the comments.

6 thoughts on “R.I.P X – Peril on the Screen #1

Leave a Reply

