Bout of Books 14 (August 2015) Goals and Daily Progress Updates

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 17th and runs through Sunday, August 23rd in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 14 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team


I love Bout of Books, and this time it’s the perfect opportunity for me to really get back into my blog because of late I’ve been very absent from here, although I’ve never stopped reading so I can’t really account for my absence other than real life getting in the way. I know I won’t be able to devote as much time to reading this time around, but I’m still going to do the best I can and hopefully finish at least one book.

Time Devoted to Reading

(Hopefully) 30 minutes each day.

My Goals

  • To be active on my blog every day during the readathon, and update with daily progress
  • To also be more active on Twitter
  • To visit new blogs and comment more often
  • To finish The Watchmaker of Filigree Street

Books to Read

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley

Updates

Monday

It’s here, it’s here… the first day of Bout of Books.
Really looking forward to this.  My recent reading slump has been obliterated by the starting of a great book, so I’m hoping to finish that book during this readathon.
I wish I had more guaranteed reading time but things are a bit hectic at the moment so I’m going to do the best I can.

Tuesday (Monday’s Progress)

I always manage to do this during a readathon; I pick a book that I really want to savour every page so I find myself reading at a slower pace so I don‘t miss anything.  I am enjoying The Watchmaker of Filigree Street SO much and it would be rude not to give a special mention to Katsu the clockwork octopus, who is a real little character.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  20
Total number of pages I’ve read:  20

Wednesday (Tuesday’s progress)

Had a lovely couple of hours with my book today.  What a wonderful way to spend an afternoon, totally lost in a great book.  Hope everyone else is enjoying their reading as much as I am.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  50
Total number of pages I’ve read:  70

Thursday (Wednesday’s progress)

Today I spent some time visiting blogs.  One of the best things about a readathon is discovering new blogs, so I enjoyed doing that.  The Watchmaker of Filigree Street is still proving to be a totally engrossing read.  I almost don’t want it to end.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  75
Total number of pages I’ve read:  145

Friday (Thursday’s progress)

 Does anyone else feel as though this week is just flying by?  I can’t believe it’s almost over already!!  I’ll definitely finish my book before the readathon ends now.  Have tried to do as much reading as I could today because I know I’m not going to have much opportunity over the next day or so.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  100
Total number of pages I’ve read:  245

Saturday (Friday’s progress)

My book is coming to its end, and I really don’t want it to. Am reading really slowly now, just to stay in this bookish world a little longer.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 25
Total number of pages I’ve read: 270

Sunday (Saturday’s progress)

Well, not a single page was read on Saturday. Ended up having a really busy day and it was late by the time I got home so I didn’t manage to read anything at all. Am going to try and make up for this on Sunday.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 0
Total number of pages I’ve read: 270

Monday (Sunday’s progress and final thoughts)

Posted here.

One thought on “Bout of Books 14 (August 2015) Goals and Daily Progress Updates

Leave a Reply

