It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s time to check in and tell you a little about what I’m been reading recently, and what I’m reading at the moment.
I think this is a post more likely to feature often on my blog these days as I haven’t done a weekend book haul post in a while, mostly because I’ve finally admitted I have WAY too many books, more than I’ll ever manage to read and so I’m trying to focus on the books I already have and reduce my TBR pile. I know it’s a great idea in theory, but I also know there are times when I just won’t be able to help myself, and new books will still find their way onto my pile.
I’ve missed updating my blog through the Weekend Post though, so decided to give this a try instead.

First, a recent finish…

Disclaimer by Renee Knight

Finding a mysterious novel at her bedside plunges documentary filmmaker Catherine Ravenscroft into a living nightmare. Though ostensibly fiction, The Perfect Stranger recreates in vivid, unmistakable detail the terrible day Catherine became hostage to a dark secret, a secret that only one other person knew–and that person is dead.

Now that the past is catching up with her, Catherine’s world is falling apart. Her only hope is to confront what really happened on that awful day even if the shocking truth might destroy her. – Goodreads

I enjoyed this book a lot and should have a review up on the blog soon. What an interesting initial idea; imagine picking up a book only to find yourself to be the main character. Worse still, imagine that book exposing a secret you imagined long-hidden.

My current read (or two):

Midnight Crossroad by Charlaine Harris

From Charlaine Harris, the bestselling author who created Sookie Stackhouse and her world of Bon Temps, Louisiana, comes a darker locale – populated by more strangers than friends. But then, that’s how the locals prefer it…
Welcome to Midnight, Texas, a town with many boarded-up windows and few full-time inhabitants, located at the crossing of Witch Light Road and Davy Road. It’s a pretty standard dried-up western town.

There’s a pawnshop (someone lives in the basement and is seen only at night). There’s a diner (people who are just passing through tend not to linger). And there’s new resident Manfred Bernardo, who thinks he’s found the perfect place to work in private (and who has secrets of his own).

Stop at the one traffic light in town, and everything looks normal. Stay awhile, and learn the truth…

This is the first in a new series by the author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels. I’ve never read anything by this author before and thought I’d start with this new series when the striking cover and interesting blurb caught my attention. It’s a great mix of domestic town life and supernatural beings and happenings. I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen.

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

At the dawn of the nineteenth century, two very different magicians emerge to change England’s history. In the year 1806, with the Napoleonic Wars raging on land and sea, most people believe magic to be long dead in England–until the reclusive Mr Norrell reveals his powers, and becomes a celebrity overnight.

Soon, another practicing magician comes forth: the young, handsome, and daring Jonathan Strange. He becomes Norrell’s student, and they join forces in the war against France. But Strange is increasingly drawn to the wildest, most perilous forms of magic, straining his partnership with Norrell, and putting at risk everything else he holds dear. – Goodreads

This is a re-read for me, mainly to coincide with the excellent BBC adaptation currently onscreen. I think I read the book when it first came out, so it’s a number of years ago, but certain key scenes I can still remember. I’m really enjoying my re-read (I don’t often tend to re-read books) and am so happy that the tv series so far is living up to the excellence of the novel.

And a book I’ve just recently acquired from the library which I can’t wait to start:

Finders Keepers by Stephen King

A masterful, intensely suspenseful novel about a reader whose obsession with a reclusive writer goes far too far—a book about the power of storytelling, starring the same trio of unlikely and winning heroes King introduced in Mr. Mercedes

“Wake up, genius.” So begins King’s instantly riveting story about a vengeful reader. The genius is John Rothstein, an iconic author who created a famous character, Jimmy Gold, but who hasn’t published a book for decades. Morris Bellamy is livid, not just because Rothstein has stopped providing books, but because the nonconformist Jimmy Gold has sold out for a career in advertising. Morris kills Rothstein and empties his safe of cash, yes, but the real treasure is a trove of notebooks containing at least one more Gold novel.

Morris hides the money and the notebooks, and then he is locked away for another crime. Decades later, a boy named Pete Saubers finds the treasure, and now it is Pete and his family that Bill Hodges, Holly Gibney, and Jerome Robinson must rescue from the ever-more deranged and vengeful Morris when he’s released from prison after thirty-five years.

Not since Misery has King played with the notion of a reader whose obsession with a writer gets dangerous. Finders Keepers is spectacular, heart-pounding suspense, but it is also King writing about how literature shapes a life—for good, for bad, forever. – Goodreads

This one is a sequel to Mr Mercedes. I’m a big Stephen King fan, so it’s always great to find a new book of his. This one is definitely at the top of my TBR pile! It’s also one of the books I was talking about at the start of this post – you know, the ones you just cannot resist no matter how many books you already own.


That’s all for this week. So, what are you reading? Have you read any of the books mentioned in this post? As always, let me know in the comments…

One thought on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Leave a Reply

