Bout of Books 13 May 2015 – Final Summary

Bout of Books
So, that’s it – another Bout of Books is over. I’m sure I’ve commented on this before but I think the week of a read-a-thon goes so much faster than your average week. Perhaps it’s the documenting of each day through daily updates, and keeping check on how much you’ve read that makes the time pass so quickly. I’ll miss updating my Bout of Books post each day, so already I’m looking forward to the next read-a-thon.

My final day was really good. It wasn’t that I got loads of reading done, because I didn’t manage a massive number of pages, but I totally lost myself in the world of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, knowing that in only a few hours I would be able to watch the first episode of the tv series and see how it measured up to this book I’m loving so much. It made a nice end to the readathon.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  50
Total number of pages I’ve read:  710


So, did I meet my reading goals?   (Original Goals post).
Sort of…

I did finish reading I Am Pilgrim, and I made a start on The Day We Disappeared.
The only thing I didn’t plan on was the wonder of re-reading Jonathan Strange, but I’m so glad I picked up that book again, even though at over 1000 pages it’s almost like carrying a brick around with me.
The audio book attempt just didn’t happen, but at some point I really do mean to try another audio book, so I’ve not given up completely on the idea.
I did visit a lot of new blogs, and commented more than I did last time, which was great.

I think all that’s left to say is a big thank you to everyone who visited my blog during this read-a-thon. I hope everyone had a great week of reading and achieved all they wanted to. Here’s to the next Bout of Books!

The Weeks Progress Revisited…

 Updates

Monday

And so it’s here – the first day of Bout of Books! So exciting.
I’ve sorted my pile of books and am ready to read.
I still haven’t chosen an audio book to try yet, but there’s a whole week of reading ahead, so there’s plenty of time to do that.
For now it’s back to I Am Pilgrim

Tuesday (Monday’s Progress)

As usually happens, it doesn’t look like I’ll be sticking to my goals.

Yesterday I discovered that the tv adaptation of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell is starting next weekend. I loved that book a lot and am really looking forward to the series, which has also given me the perfect excuse/timing to re-read the novel. So, I’m adding that one to my TBR pile as well.

My revised plan is to stick with I Am Pilgrim because it’s the book I’m already reading, but perhaps substitute one of the other books on my list for Jonathan Strange… I know I won’t manage to finish it before the series starts, but I’ll make some progress.

Back to my progress – yesterday I read 100 pages of I Am Pilgrim, so had quite a good first read-a-thon day.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  100
Total number of pages I’ve read:  100

Wednesday (Tuesday’s progress)

SO glad I decided to re-read Jonathan Strange, but it’s certainly a book to savour, with all the intricate detail of the footnotes, so I’m probably going to read even less than I hoped before the tv series begins, because I don’t want to miss a thing. It’s strange, my paperback was published in 2005, so it must be almost 10 years since I read the book, but I can still remember certain things about it.
So, 30 pages read today. Also…

I Am Pilgrim. Another 80 pages devoured.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  110
Total number of pages I’ve read:  210

Thursday (Wednesday’s progress)

I finished I Am Pilgrim! This was unexpected. I took advantage of the good weather yesterday afternoon and spent some time outside reading. The story was so fast-paced I just couldn’t put the book down, and I was sorry when I did actually reach the end, having spent almost 900 pages with the characters. It’s a good job I have a few other books just ready and waiting for my reading attention.

Also spent some time yesterday visiting other blogs and commenting, which is something I wanted to do more during this Bout of Books.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  156
Total number of pages I’ve read:  366

Friday (Thursday’s progress)

I read another 70 pages of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell. I’ve given up all hope of reading even half the book before the tv series starts, but I don’t mind. I love the details, and all the little stories wrapped in the footnotes, so I’ll just keep going at my leisurely reading pace.

Am trying my best to stick to some of my goals, so I also found time to start The Day We Disappeared and read the first 50 pages. I think it’s a book I should enjoy.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  120
Total number of pages I’ve read:  486

Saturday (Friday’s progress)

I really wanted to carry on with Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, but needed a book small enough to go in my bag while I was out today, so The Day We Disappeared became my book of choice. Wasn’t sure how much time I would manage to read for so was pleased with the amount I did mange to read today. I’d like to finish at least one more book before the end of Bout of Books.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 154
Total number of pages I’ve read: 640

Sunday (Saturday’s progress)

I think I read 1000 pages during the last Bout of Books. There’s no way I’ll get anywhere near that total this time around but I don’t mind – I’m enjoying my book too much to rush it. I didn’t have anywhere near enough chance to read on Saturday as I was called in to work, so just snatched a few pages on my breaks. Am going to have a good full afternoon of reading tomorrow though to make up for it.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  20
Total number of pages I’ve read: 660

3 thoughts on “Bout of Books 13 May 2015 – Final Summary

  1. Sofia says:

    Congrats finishing the event! I’m also really looking forward to another read-a-thon, there’s just something about updating about your progress, participating in the challenges, finding new blogs 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

