#BookADayUK May 2015 Part 1

#BookADayUK takes place on Twitter.  During May Dead Good Books are hosting the event.  This is a summary of the questions and the books I’ve selected for the first half of the month.


1st:   Best loved classic – I’m torn between Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, so I’ll say both of them.

2nd:   Full of red herringsThe Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins. That story had plenty of twists and turns before it became clear what was going on and I loved every moment of it.

3rd:   Addictive crime series – This is hard for me as I don’t really read much crime. I did very much enjoy the Millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson, and the Harry Hole books by Jo Nesbo are great too.

4th:   From another planetThe Humans by Matt Haig.

5th:   Ultimate page turner – The most recent read I couldn’t bring myself to put down was I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes. Definitely a page turner even though it was such a long book.

6th:   Scariest villain – Naughty John from The Diviners by Libba Bray. Also, couldn’t do this topic without an honorary mention for Pennywise from IT by Stephen King.

7th:   My fictional Prime Minister – Tyrion Lannister from Game of Thrones by George R R Martin. I think he’d be amazing!

8th:   Last crime novel I readWant You Dead by Peter James.

9th:   Favourite amateur sleuth – Miss Marple.

10th:   Bought on a whim – I’m such a massive fan of the library that I can’t remember the last time I bought a book on a whim, but there have been ENDLESS amounts of library books I’ve borrowed on a whim, based on something as simple as the cover design or a catchy blurb.

11th:   Favourite fictional detective – I’m sure this will have been a popular choice but it has to be Sherlock Holmes I think.

12th:   Finest Short Story – I recently read Margaret Atwood’s Stone Mattress and I loved each and every story in that collection. I couldn’t pick just one because each one was memorable.

13th:   Psychologically thrillingShutter Island by Dennis Lehane. What a gripping read, and really delivers on the twists too.

14th:   Most peculiar novelThe Bone Clocks by David Mitchell had some quite peculiar sections to it, and strangely enough they were the scenes I enjoyed the most and looked forward to reading more about. I loved the mix of fantasy and everyday throughout the book.

15th:   I guessed the killer – I have a confession – I’m hopeless at this sort of thing. I think I would make a pretty awful detective, because the big reveal usually comes as a surprise to me!


What do you think of this month’s questions?  Have you read any of these books, or which would you have chosen instead.  As always, do let me know in the comments, and I’ll be back at the end of the month with another list of books!

One thought on “#BookADayUK May 2015 Part 1

Leave a Reply

