Bout of Books 13 (May 2015) Goals and Daily Progress Updates

Bout of Books
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 11th and runs through Sunday, May 17th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 12 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

It’s Bout of Books time!  Anyone else excited for this read-a-thon?   This is my third time taking part, and I can’t wait to get started.  If you’ve never participated before, you can find more information and sign up at the Bout of Books blog (link above).  As usual, all my updates for the event will happen on this post, and possibly on Twitter (link in the sidebar).

Time Devoted to Reading

I will try to read for at least half an hour each day during the read-a-thon, but hopefully I’ll manage more as well.

My Goals

  • To finish reading I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes
  • To start The Day We Disappeared by Lucy Robinson
  • To try out another audio book to see whether I can get into them, because so far I never have and I wonder if I’m missing out.
  • To keep track of my reading during this event via daily progress updates
  • To visit and comment on other blogs often

Books to Read

  • I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes
  • The Day We Disappeared by Lucy Robinson
  • Undecided about which audio book to try, but there will be at least one

Updates

Monday

And so it’s here – the first day of Bout of Books! So exciting.
I’ve sorted my pile of books and am ready to read.
I still haven’t chosen an audio book to try yet, but there’s a whole week of reading ahead, so there’s plenty of time to do that.
For now it’s back to I Am Pilgrim

Tuesday (Monday’s Progress)

As usually happens, it doesn’t look like I’ll be sticking to my goals.

Yesterday I discovered that the tv adaptation of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell is starting next weekend. I loved that book a lot and am really looking forward to the series, which has also given me the perfect excuse/timing to re-read the novel. So, I’m adding that one to my TBR pile as well.

My revised plan is to stick with I Am Pilgrim because it’s the book I’m already reading, but perhaps substitute one of the other books on my list for Jonathan Strange… I know I won’t manage to finish it before the series starts, but I’ll make some progress.

Back to my progress – yesterday I read 100 pages of I Am Pilgrim, so had quite a good first read-a-thon day.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  100
Total number of pages I’ve read:  100

Wednesday (Tuesday’s progress)

SO glad I decided to re-read Jonathan Strange, but it’s certainly a book to savour, with all the intricate detail of the footnotes, so I’m probably going to read even less than I hoped before the tv series begins, because I don’t want to miss a thing. It’s strange, my paperback was published in 2005, so it must be almost 10 years since I read the book, but I can still remember certain things about it.
So, 30 pages read today. Also…

I Am Pilgrim. Another 80 pages devoured.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  110
Total number of pages I’ve read:  210

Thursday (Wednesday’s progress)

I finished I Am Pilgrim! This was unexpected. I took advantage of the good weather yesterday afternoon and spent some time outside reading. The story was so fast-paced I just couldn’t put the book down, and I was sorry when I did actually reach the end, having spent almost 900 pages with the characters. It’s a good job I have a few other books just ready and waiting for my reading attention.

Also spent some time yesterday visiting other blogs and commenting, which is something I wanted to do more during this Bout of Books.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  156
Total number of pages I’ve read:  366

Friday (Thursday’s progress)

I read another 70 pages of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell. I’ve given up all hope of reading even half the book before the tv series starts, but I don’t mind. I love the details, and all the little stories wrapped in the footnotes, so I’ll just keep going at my leisurely reading pace.

Am trying my best to stick to some of my goals, so I also found time to start The Day We Disappeared and read the first 50 pages. I think it’s a book I should enjoy.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  120
Total number of pages I’ve read:  486

Saturday (Friday’s progress)

I really wanted to carry on with Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, but needed a book small enough to go in my bag while I was out today, so The Day We Disappeared became my book of choice. Wasn’t sure how much time I would manage to read for so was pleased with the amount I did mange to read today. I’d like to finish at least one more book before the end of Bout of Books.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 154
Total number of pages I’ve read: 640

Sunday (Saturday’s progress)

I think I read 1000 pages during the last Bout of Books. There’s no way I’ll get anywhere near that total this time around but I don’t mind – I’m enjoying my book too much to rush it. I didn’t have anywhere near enough chance to read on Saturday as I was called in to work, so just snatched a few pages on my breaks. Am going to have a good full afternoon of reading tomorrow though to make up for it.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  20
Total number of pages I’ve read: 660

Monday (Sunday’s progress and final thoughts)

 

Number of pages I’ve read today:
Total number of pages I’ve read:

 

20 thoughts on “Bout of Books 13 (May 2015) Goals and Daily Progress Updates

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks, good luck to you too 🙂 Really hope I’ll be able to get more than half an hour each day reading time, especially as I’ve chosen a couple of massive books 😀

      Like

  1. Danni Mae says:

    Looks like you’re making some good progress, and it’ll get even better when you get your hands on that book you’ve been wanting. That’s what I’ll be doing, too- switching to a book I know I’ll love. Happy reading!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      The tv show looks so brilliant, and it’s almost the weekend so not long to wait now. I’m loving the book too, although I’m reading it quite slowly to take in all the detail 🙂

      Like

  2. Dina says:

    Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell is great! I’m a little jealous that you still got much of the book ahead of you. But you’re right, it’s not the kind of story you can rush through. Have fun reading and don’t stress yourself. You may still make it before the TV show catches up with you. 🙂

    Like

  3. Kelsey says:

    Don’t worry about sticking to your goals, or even a strict list of books to read. I change both of mine during the readathon every time! You still seem to be doing great though 🙂

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks 🙂 I should know better than to even think of making a list really because I always end up finding something else to read along the way, especially after visiting blogs and seeing what other people are reading!

      Like

  4. Kristilyn says:

    I didn’t even know there was a TV adaptation of Jonathan Strange! That book has been on my shelf for soooo long … I should read it finally so I can watch the show! You’re still doing great with your reading … I find goals change during readathons, especially the books I’m reading. I’m a mood reader and can rarely stick to my reading plans! lol. Good luck with the rest of the week!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks 🙂 I’ve known about the series for a while and kept wondering when it was going to be on, so I’m really excited for tomorrow night when the first episode airs. The book is great so far, definitely one to read.

      Like

Leave a Reply

