Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon: April 25th 2015

dewey1

For more information about this event, see the website.

This is the second time I’ve taken part in Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon. Last time I didn’t manage to read for the full 24 hours, and I doubt I’ll achieve that this time either due to other commitments, but I’m going to do the best I can and read for as long as possible.

As I did on my previous Read-A-Thon, I will update this post periodically during the event, to track my progress.


1pm – I think/hope I’ve got the start time for my time zone correct and the Read-A-Thon begins now.
I’m actually at work at the moment and taking full advantage of my lunch hour to get this post started and make some headway on my book. I’m going to stick with one book during the event – I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes. I’ve been reading it for a week or so already and it’s a really engrossing read; I can’t imagine putting it aside for anything else right now.
So, I’ll read through to the end of lunch then start some regular updating of this post once I get home.
Happy reading everyone!

4pm – Home after a long day and ready to read! It’s such a lovely afternoon that I’m heading out into the garden for some outdoor reading time. I love sitting out there, where it’s so quiet that I can really get lost in my book.

Opening Meme

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? The UK

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? I’m only reading one book during the event – I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes. It’s a really long book, so although I’ve already read some of it, I doubt I will finish it over the next 24 hours.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? A cup of tea and a plate of biscuits – I bought a pack of my favourites in especially for this event.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself! Am battling against a pretty bad cold at the moment, so not sure how long I’ll be able to resist falling asleep later on! I will try my best though.

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? Last time I went pretty quiet on the regular updates front, so am going to try and do better at updating my post this time.

5pm – Still sitting outside to read.  The bonus of this is that I do actually focus fully on reading because it’s very hard to get a wi-fi connection out here, which keeps me from the pull of being online.  It connects occasionally, but then drops out again, so will update more once I retreat inside…

6pm – Had to get up and stretch my legs for a while, and I’m indoors again now, so the updates should be more regular.  Am off to check out the main website, and browse through Twitter for a while, so this hour will probably not see a great increase in the number of pages I manage to read!  I love this part of the Read-A-Thon just as much as actually reading.

7pm – Wow, the lady who recommended this book to me wasn’t wrong when she said it was a brilliant read.  I’m really enjoying I Am Pilgrim.  It’s so detailed, and there are so many things going on, which all link together in ways that only become clear the more you read the book.  I don’t usually read much In the way of thrillers, so this probably makes the book seem ever better to me, as it’s a complete change, but I would certainly recommend it.

8pm – Okay, time for food, and practicing the noble art of balancing a really thick book in one hand whilst trying to handle food with the other. Wish me luck…
6am – I fell asleep. I knew I would as I haven’t been feeling too well, but I’m quite pleased because I know I’ve already managed to read for longer than I did during the last event, so that’s good. I woke up really early this morning, and started reading straight away, so hopefully I’ll still make some good progress in the hours that remain.

7am – Breakfast and a book = a lovely way to start the day.

1pm – And – that’s it!! The Readathon is over. I ended up reading 300 pages, all from the one book. It’s been great being part of this event, and I’d definitely do it again. Just off to fill in the final meme, then will probably get straight back to reading.

End of Event Meme

Which hour was most daunting for you? I didn’t read for the full 24 hours but the final hours, knowing the end of the event was in sight were probably the worst.

Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I Am Pilgrim. Definitely.

Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Not really, I think it was great.

What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? I loved the online interaction and managed to keep my blog post updated more regularly too.

How many books did you read? One.

What were the names of the books you read? I Am Pilgrim.

Which book did you enjoy most? See above

Which did you enjoy least? Not managing to stay awake for longer to read because I wasn’t feeling too well.

How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Very likely to participate as a reader in the next event. I enjoyed it a lot!

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon: April 25th 2015

Leave a Reply

