The Weekend Post #17

Join me as I look back over the last week (or more in this case) in blogging and books.  This week I am linking up with the Sunday Post Meme @ Caffeinated Book ReviewerShowcase Sunday Books Biscuits and Tea, and  Stacking The Shelves by Tynga’s Reviews


Hello and welcome back to another Weekend Post here on Pages and Tea. How long is it since I last did a weekend update?! Far too long, but the upside to this is that I have plenty of bookish news to fill this post with.

I’m still playing catch up with some of my reviews, so haven’t had a chance to focus on creating new discussion posts for my blog yet, but once I’m up to date this is definitely something I want to focus on.

Onto the books…

New To My Shelves

showcase17

From the Library:

The Ship by Antonia Honeywell

The Strings of Murder by Oscar de Muriel

Paris for One by Jojo Moyes

Street Cat Bob by James Bowen

The Water Diviner by Andrew Anastasios and Meaghan Wilson-Anastasios

Books I’ve Reviewed

Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning

Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

Very Good, Jeeves! by P. G. Wodehouse

Books That Caught My Eye (Must Find Out More)

Finders Keepers by Stephen King – Not TOO long to wait now for this one to be released. I quite enjoyed Mr. Mercedes and this book follows some of the same characters, so am looking forward to reading it.

The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King

H is for Hawk by Helen MacDonald – I don’t tend to read much non-fiction, but this book sounds interesting.

Ark by Stephen Baxter – I actually managed to resist taking this one out from the library, but only because I thought it was a follow-up to another book so thought I’d better check that one out first. I think the first book is Flood, but I’m not sure it would have mattered if I’d read this one first.

Other Posts on my Blog This Week

Top Ten Tuesday – A Few of my Favourite Heroines

Top Ten Tuesday – Book Problems (I Wouldn’t be Without!)

On Reading… Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

On Reading… Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning

 On Reading… Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning

#BookADayUK February 2015 Part 2

March Summary

Events I’ve Participated In and Upcoming Events

#BookADayUK on Twitter, hosted by Borough Press.

Trees of Reverie April 2015 Read-A-Thon TBR List and Daily Updates

Trees of Reverie April 2015 Read-A-Thon Final Summary

Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

Reading Challenge Progress

I’ve made a little progress on most of my challenges and have written two more monthly updates –

February 2015 Reading Challenge Progress Update

March 2015  Reading Challenge Progress Update

I’m doing really well with my I Love Libraries Reading Challenge as I cannot seem to keep away form the library, even though I do start out with good intentions to read books I already own and there make some headway on my Mount TBR Reading Challenge. The thing with the library is that the books you take out always have to be returned, and I just don’t have the willpower to resist picking up something new when I go to return books I’ve read.
The Monthly Key Word Reading Challenge is proving an interesting challenge. I love that moment of completing an amazing book then finding that there’s a category it will fit into to count for this challenge.

Beyond the Books

I’ve discovered the joys of Netflix, so there are endless shows that I really would like to start watching including Damages, Orange is the New Black, Sons of Anarchy, Once Upon a Time, and I really want to rewatch all the series of American Horror Story they have on there while I wait (impatiently) for Freakshow.

For now my series of choice is Pretty Little Liars. I’ve only watched the first season so far but it’s become compulsive viewing. For those who don’t know, the basic plot follows four friends who all have their own secrets and are bound together by the disappearance and murder of their friend Alison. Someone calling themselves ‘A’ keeps sending their group messages, messing with their lives in various unexpected and creative ways. It’s WAY better than I’ve described it, but I’m keeping it vague so as not to spoil anything. It’s definitely worth a watch.

I’ve FINALLY started watching Outlander too, which is a series I’m really enjoying.

Poldark is great Sunday night family drama. I can remember watching the original series a few years ago and I enjoyed that, so this update is great watching for me.

The 100 Foot Journey was an absolutely lovely film. I loved every minute of it, from the location to the actors to the music. I would highly recommend it and certainly watch it again.  And I absolutely adored every minute of Paddington.  I can’t recall the last film that make me smile so often.


 

So, that’s my bookish news to date. Did you receive any great books recently, or has anything new and bookish caught your eye lately? As always, talk to me in the comments, it would be great to hear from you!

 

19 thoughts on “The Weekend Post #17

  1. Grace @ RebelMommyBB says:

    Nice book haul! Love JoJo Moyes. Last summer I totally got sucked into Netflix big time – I binged on Sons of Aanarchy as well. I tried Pretty Little Liars earlier this year but wasn’t super into it – Maybe I will try again!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I read The Girl you Left Behind and really enjoyed it, but haven’t read any more by Moyes yet. Netflix ix SO good, I’m glad I got into it, there are so many new shows I want to try. I wasn’t sure about Liars at first, I think it took 3 or 4 episodes before I really got hooked, but then that was it, totally had to binge watch 😀

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I like the idea of Quick Reads as I’ve read a lot of long books recently and this should make a nice change. I’ve read one book by Moyes before and enjoyed that so hopefully this one will be good too.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      🙂 My watch list is starting to rival my tbr list too, there’s so much great stuff on there that I can hardly decide what to watch next.
      I’m really enjoying Paris For One, it’s a very nice short story.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I’ve watched the first few eps and it’s really good so far 🙂
      The other Moyes book I read was The Girl You Left Behind and it was SO good, so am looking forward to this short story.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I love Jamie and Claire, they’re both great characters. I’ve not read any of the books yet, even though I’ve had them on my TBR list for a long time, so I have no idea what’s going to happen in the series. I really must read the books.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

