#BookADayUK February 2015 Part 2

#BookADayUK takes place on Twitter.  During February Borough Press are hosting the event.  This is a summary of the questions and the books I’ve selected for the second half of this month.


16th:   Favourite book in translation – I adore the works of Carlos Ruiz Zafon. I’ve read many of his books, but I think the one that really stands out, and the one I’ve read more than once is The Shadow of the Wind.

17th:   Book you were wrong about – Not sure about this one?  Will have to give it some more thought.

18th:   Book you read after seeing the film – I recently watched Before I Go To Sleep and now I really want to read the book because I enjoyed the film a lot.

19th:   Favourite book about music – Hm, this is tricky. The Phantom of the Opera. I love the book and the stage show, and it does feature music, so I think that counts.

20th:   Slept with the lights on after reading – I don’t think I get scared too easily, but there were certain scenes in The Shining by Stephen King that I couldn’t get out of my mind for a while after reading the book!

21st:   Brings back good memoriesRight Ho, Jeeves by P. G. Wodehouse. There was a particular scene in this book that I just had to pause on because it made me laugh so much. I ended up rereading it over and over, and each time it just seemed funnier than the last. I laughed so much I had tears streaming down my face and ended up with stomach ache. It’s a good job I was home alone so no one could witness the scene.

22nd:   Glad you took a chance onTwenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella. It was a total change from the books I would usually read and I found every minute of it a pure joy. I liked it so much I would read it again.

23rd:   Favourite book published in your lifetime – This question made me realise that many of the books I’ve read and enjoyed are quite literally before my time, especially when it comes to the classics such as Jane Eyre and North and South. So, Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin it is then!

24th:   Character you’d least like to turn up on a blind date – Inspired by yesterday’s answer – Joffrey Baratheon. Enough to send any girl running for the hills I would imagine. While I may enjoy a fictional bad boy there are limits.

25th:   Book you would give to a lover – Have pondered on this one for so long now and still haven’t come up with an answer.  Oh, I know… Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  I love the way Darcy and Elizabeth clash so often before they actually manage to accept that they’re in love with each other.

26th:   A book you’d love to discuss with your favourite author – Some of my favourite authors at the moment are Stephen King and George R. R. Martin, so I would happily sit and talk about any of their books with them, and any other books they wanted to talk about as well. It would be brilliant to get book recommendations from your favourite authors.

27th:   Longest owned unread – I have PILES of books that would fit into this category. I wouldn’t even know where to begin, but casting my eyes over my vastly over-stacked bookcase the first one that catches my eye is A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth. It’s such a massive book that it’s a little daunting, which may be one of the reasons I’ve never read it to date.

28th:   Book to convert a non-readerThe Collected Works of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin. It’s a book about books, reading and a love of literature. It shows how these things can help bring people together and is all-round a wonderful story, although I did find parts of it pretty sad. Such a great read though.

2 thoughts on “#BookADayUK February 2015 Part 2

Leave a Reply

