On Reading… Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning

or

On Reading… is a feature I created to accompany my book reviews. So often reading is much more of an experience than is appropriate to be captured within a book review. That’s where this post comes in… All those snippets/spoilers/a-ha moments, all the anticipation of looking forward to a good read, and guessing at what lies in store, that’s what you will find in my On Reading… posts. It’s an observational/conversational/discussion type feature, so THERE MAY BE SPOILERS AHEAD. Please proceed with caution!

Again – what you read beyond this point you may consider spoiler-ish.  You can also read my Darkfever Review (no spoilers).

 Before I started…

I was so excited to find this series as I’ve become a little bit intrigued with the idea of the fae at the moment, so now I can’t wait to get started reading.

Whilst reading…

Mac is likeable quite quickly, and I like the ominous way she talks about how different things are compared to how they were when she started out on her quest to find out what happened to her sister. I want to know how she ended up with such a different view than she started out with when she was the girl sitting by the pool listening to her music, openly admitting her sister was the one with all the ambition, before her world changed forever.

Olde Worlde Dublin sounds so beautiful. Reading this book makes me want to visit the land the author has created, although perhaps minus all the monstrous creatures I’m sure lie ahead.

p.38 – Barrons Books and Baubles – Someone please take me to this shop right away, it sounds like something straight from a dream. And speaking of that…

Hello Mr. Jericho Barrons! He’s going to be a major character in this series, I hope, but will he be hero or villain? Can’t wait to find out.

“I love books, by the way, way more than movies. Movies tell you what to think. A good book lets you choose a few thoughts for yourself” p.39. – Love this quote so much, it’s spot on.

“If I was sunshine, he was night. A dark and stormy one”p. 52.

p.70 – I love that Mac goes to the library to do some research. She’s thinking ahead, and trying to prepare herself. I also love it that when she finds information about a cursed ancient book, the Dark King, a mythical race and the key to deciphering a long-dead language Mac remains so grounded in reality that she’s just incredulous and mad as can be with Jericho Barrons, assuming he lied to her rather than buying into the fantastical world immediately and without question.

“My weaknesses are books are music and I figure there are worse ones to have” p.86. – I totally agree with you, Mac.

p.271 – Who is the Lord Master, I wonder? I do love the way the scene with the Gray Man played out.

p.288 – 1247 LaRuhe – I wonder if it’s a book, or a reference to something in an archive or a museum, rather than an address?

p.294 – Jericho Barrons, I am certain you are more than you appear to be, and I can’t wait to find out what secrets you are hiding.

p.324 – Jericho Barrons, dropping from a great height, long black coat flying out behind him, coming to Mac’s aid – what a wonderful visual. I think I lost all sense and reason there for a moment. I do like Jericho.

There’s going to be a cliff-hanger, isn’t there?! I think there is. Not sure whether I can take it.

Afterwards…

CLIFFHANGER!! So many questions remain, so many mysteries still to solve. Come on, local library, you cannot let me down, you simply must have Bloodfever in stock.
*goes to check catalogue*
YES! Have just ordered the next book in the series, because I really need to know what happens next, and I want to read more about Jericho Barrons and V’Lane.

4 thoughts on “On Reading… Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning

Leave a Reply

