Top Ten Tuesday – Book Related Problems (That I Wouldn’t Be Without…)

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.  Click on the link for more info and to find out about future topics.

This weeks theme is:  Ten Book Related Problems I Have (could be serious or fun!)


I like the sound of this topic. I’m definitely going down the ‘fun’ road with this, because reading and blogging is a hobby for me, and hobbies should definitely be fun.

Buying too many books – Why is this a problem, you may ask?
I’ve been an avid reader as long as I can remember, which is a good number of years in which to collect books. Eventually, it’s inevitable – YOU RUN OUT OF STORAGE SPACE! This could be listed as a whole separate problem. The bookcases are double stacked, all space is taken, I have boxes of books which are artfully concealed in several locations, and have even resorted to keeping some of them outside in the garage (!!!). Criminal, I know, but what’s a girl to do when all other options have been exhausted?
I am on a self-imposed book buying ban, although I do still treat myself to e-books (NO STORAGE ISSUES!!), and I am a regular library user, which brings me to my next point…

Being drawn to the library – The library and my regular visits there are something of a vicious circle, because I ALWAYS find something new I want to borrow, which of course means that three weeks down the line that book has to be returned, leading me once more back to the library. I am utterly incapable of walking past the ‘Just In’ shelves with all those new, shiny, untouched books, without picking up at least one. Trouble is, it’s never just one, is it?

Getting distracted online – Sometimes I’ll pause in my reading and go online, looking up facts about the book, or character details, or reviews and opinions about the book.  I also like to find fan art based around the book I’m reading, because there is a lot of great work out there.  I pass SO MUCH time lost in blog-land, and every minute of it is wonderful but terrible for my TBR list, because one book always leads to another, and one blog leads to another too!

The Endless Dilemma AKA What Should I Read Next? – You all know how this one goes – the massive TBR list, the library loan deadline, the urge to re-read an old favourite, the gorgeous covers all just crying out for your attention. So many choices, so little time leads on to…

So many to read NOW – You read the blogs, and this book sounds wonderful, and everyone loves it, but then, so does this book, and this one, and this one, and I WANT TO READ ALL THE BOOKS NOW PLEASE!!

Reviews to catch up on – This is something that happened to me towards the latter end of last year. Somehow I had documents full of notes but I couldn’t seem to devote the time to getting a review together. I’m catching up now, and am happy to be on top of things and hope to remain so, but for a time it was definitely an issue.

Fictional crushes – What do you mean, Jericho Barrons isn’t real? And neither is Robb Stark? Or Jareth the Goblin King? Thranduil? Or any of the countless wonderful characters from some of my favourite books. This is NOT good!

Mastering the art of juggling the book – You’re reading the most amazing book, and simply can’t put it down until you’ve finished just one more chapter, and so you want to grab every reading moment you can. This leads to mastering the fine art of reading your book whilst walking around the house, balancing the book while you go into the bath (because dropping a library book into the bath is UNFORGIVABLE), and working out how to prop it up so your hands are free for other things (like holding your cup of tea in one hand and the biscuit you’re about to dunk in the other). Multitasking!

And here’s a problem for those around me – Other people have the problem of trying to get my attention when I’m lost in a book. I wouldn’t deliberately try to ignore someone who was talking to me, but I’m getting used to tuning out background noise, so sometimes it’s pretty hard to drag me back into the land of reality.

And my final ‘problem’ is something I’ve overcome a little bit since discovering the wonderful book blogging community – Not having too many people to share book love with. In creating my little space here on the internet and discovering all the great book blogs out there this is less of a problem than it has been in the past, which is good.


I loved writing for this topic, and could add a bonus item to my list – having to limit myself to just ten items!  Can you relate to any of these wonderful bookish issues?  As always, feel free to talk to me in the comments…

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Book Related Problems (That I Wouldn’t Be Without…)

  1. readerbuzz says:

    As a child, it frustrated my dad so much when he would find me reading. He always wanted me to experience real life. As if real life could possibly compete with my book worlds!

    Here’s my Top Ten!

    Like

  2. Belindas Crafts says:

    I like your list. I especially like the library one. I don’t know why I go to the library when I have so many books on my shelves that I haven’t read. I know there is logic but I lose it when it comes to books. I am embarrassed to tell you how many books I returned unread from the library. The worst part is that they often ask me how did I like it at reference and I have to come clean and admit I didn’t get to it! I wish I had your talent of blocking out the sounds around me. My two boys always distract me so I end up reading at night or when I go pick them up from school I go early and read.
    Come visit my list if you have some time.
    http://www.belindascrafts.com/category/belindas-book-nook/

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      That’s another one I could have added – returning books unread 🙂 It’s also happened to me, people asking what I’ve thought of the book and of course it would be one of the ones I didn’t have time to read! I wish there were more hours in the day to devote to reading, then that wouldn’t happen 🙂

      Like

  3. Savindi says:

    I’ve been there where I’ve bought too many books-I mean who can resist a sale when books are only $5.00! But then it’s sad when you lose interest or don’t end up reading them. I can relate to your last book problem! When I read a good book and then discover the fanbase is so small, I’m just like WHY!! THIS BOOK IS SO GOOD!! Getting distracted online made my list as well! Your list was really fun 🙂

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I try really hard to resist buying even more books, but it’s just so hard, and now I’ve got my e-reader it’s even more difficult 🙂 I know I’ll never manage to read all the books I already have but that doesn’t stop me from buying more 🙂

      Like

  4. Anastasia says:

    Definitely have a problem with having more crushes on fictional characters than real people 😂 although I’m sort of glad they’re fictional because I’d be horrible “player” going after all of them

    Like

  5. Elsi says:

    > the fine art of reading your book whilst walking around
    Indeed!! I have mastered the propping of the book in a restaurant with an extra knife to hold the pages open.

    I see problems common to most avid readers. Thank goodness for the Internet and online community of book lovers to make up for the [sometimes] lack of those in our day-to-day life.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      That sounds great, will have to remember that for another time because it can be really awkward, especially with a hardback book.

      I love having found the online book community as in real life I seem to know very few readers. I have a friend who is an avid reader but she’s gone away and I really miss our bookish conversations now I don’t see her much any more.

      Like

  6. Amanda says:

    I love this! OMG the book juggling. Right before my maternity leave ended I perfected the feed a sleepy baby with one arm and read with the other. I also have to forcibly stop myself at the new release section of the library!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thanks 🙂 Going online is wonderful but also terrible for the state of my TBR list because there are so many great books to read, and people write such wonderful reviews that I know I will HAVE to check out that book sometime!

      Liked by 1 person

    • pagesandtea says:

      The one I kept looking up most recently was Stephen King’s Dark Tower series, because that world was so vast and there was so much I wanted to know about, so I lost many hours reading about various characters and happenings in Mid-World, but I loved the series so much that I didn’t mind.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Fictional crushes are the best 🙂 There are so many great characters out there to discover.

      I love the online book world as in real life these days I seem to know very few people who read, and when they do we never seem to have any books in common.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Lisa says:

    I’ve become quite the book juggler too! I can set up my coffee machine, pour the coffee into a cup and add cream and sweetener, all without looking up from the page. It’s a talent! 🙂 Great list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

