#BookADayUK February 2015 Part 1

#BookADayUK takes place on Twitter.  During February Borough Press are hosting the event.  This is a summary of the questions and the books I’ve selected so far.


 1st:   Book that defined my teenage yearsHarry Potter and midnight book launches were quite a defining feature of my (late) teenage years. I doubt there will be anything like that again. I used to love going along and people-watching as we waited for the crucial moment, just to see the vast variety of age groups who were all so invested in knowing what would happen to Harry and Co. next. Once I’d got my book in hand I would lose the whole weekend devouring it in an almost constant reading session.

2nd:   I’d like to know what @____’s favourite book is – All of you! Tell me your favourite book and I’ll probably add it to my TBR list, even though that’s always huge!

3rd:   My favourite character’s favourite song would be – For some reason Sansa Stark came to mind for me for this question, and the two songs which instantly sprung to mind were No Light, No Light by Florence and the Machine and I Could Have Danced All Night from My Fair Lady.

4th:   Matchmaking – These two characters should get together – Sara Falk and Mr. Sharp from The Oversight by Charlie Fletcher. I have high hopes that they were be reunited in future books because I would love for them to get together.

5th:   The author I would love to meet (living or dead) – I can’t just go for one, so – Stephen King, George R R Martin, Charlotte Bronte, P. G. Wodehouse and Jane Austen.

6th:   And the question I would ask them is – I would ask GRRM when The Winds of Winter is going to be published, and whether the tv series Game of Thrones will overtake the narrative of the books and whether that bothers/worries him. I would ask Wodehouse if Bertie Wooster was based on someone he knew in real life and whether any of the many hilarious antics he got up to were also real-life experiences made into fiction.

7th:   My favourite opening line – “The man in black fled across the desert and the gunslinger followed” from The Gunslinger by Stephen King – such an iconic line and one that always remains in my memory.

8th:   Bought entirely for its coverA Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray, although I’ve just started reading it and the story so far is really good, so I’m glad I chose it.

9th:   The book that has always stayed with me – There are so many: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCollough, the North and South trilogy by John Jakes, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

10th:   A great book to read aloud – I’ve never really considered reading aloud so this one has me beat.

11th:   These two characters should not have got together – This is a tough one, but possibly Cathy and Heathcliff from Wuthering Heights would have passed happier lives (and so would several other people) if the two of them had never been so drawn to each other.

12th:   Feelgood read – Any of the Jeeves books by P. G. Wodehouse. Nothing makes me laugh quite as much as those books. I read one once which was so funny I wouldn’t have dared read it on public transport in case anyone wondered what on earth I was laughing at so hard. I don’t think non-readers would appreciate how all-consuming a well-written comic moment of a book can be to induce such excessive laughter.

13th:   This book is precious to me because – All books are precious, I think, but the ones which have moved me to tears include The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCollough, The Dark Tower by Stephen King and The Collected Works of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin.

14th:   The book that reminds me of an exBirdsong by Sebastian Faulks.

15th:   Book set in the place you’re from – I can’t think of a single book set in my location, so I’m going for the place I would love to go to if we could travel into fictional worlds and say Westeros. I’d love to go to Dorne and Winterfell.

4 thoughts on “#BookADayUK February 2015 Part 1

  1. jessicarainbowinspiration says:

    My favourite read recently is Mohsin Hamid’s The Reluctant Fundamentalist 🙂 I really like Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

