The Weekend Post #15

Join me as I look back over the last week (or more in this case) in blogging and books.  This week I am linking up with the Sunday Post Meme @ Caffeinated Book ReviewerShowcase Sunday Books Biscuits and TeaStacking The Shelves by Tynga’s Reviews, and It’s Monday! What Are You Reading by Bookjourney.


Hello and welcome to another weekend post.
What better way to begin a new month on my blog than with a round-up of all my latest bookish (and occasionally not so bookish) finds/borrows?

Onto the books…

New To My Shelves

showcase15
From the Library:

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo – I FINALLY get to find out how it’s all going to end.  Can’t wait to get back to Ravka!

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray – I’ll be the first to admit that the gorgeous cover first lured me into looking at this book, but the story sounds like it will really appeal to me, so I’m looking forward to this one.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins – I’ve started this book and all I can say so far is WHAT A PAGE TURNER!!

And in E-Books:

Daugher of the Forest by Juliet Marillier

The Selection by Kiera Kass

Books I’ve Reviewed

The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami

Books That Caught My Eye (Must Find Out More)

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter – Alice has to fight zombies?  Um, yes please!

Other Posts on my Blog This Week

Bout of Books 12 Daily Progress Updates

Bout of Books 12 Final Summary

January 2015 Reading Challenge Progress Update

January 2015 Monthly Summary

Top Ten Tuesday – Freebie – in which I talk about some of the books I hope to read this year

Top Ten Tuesday – Books I’d Read With my Book Club

Events I’ve Participated In and Upcoming Events

#BookADayUK on Twitter had a break during January (and I missed it) but I believe it will be back next month, so that’s something to look forward to.

Bout of Books 12 – you can read about my progress here.

Reading Challenge Progress

It’s still early days in my year-long reading challenges, but I have made some progress, which is good.
I’m going to create a separate post each month, dedicated to my reading challenges, and here is my January 2015 Reading Challenges Update. I’ll probably write more each week about what I’ve read towards my challenges too, but I’m playing catch up again with my blog right now due to yet more computer problems, which are hopefully solved now.

Beyond the Books

I watched the movie Before I Go To Sleep. I really did intend to read the book way before I watched the film, but for some reason I never got around to it, so watched the film first. I really enjoyed it. I didn’t know what to expect, and it kept me guessing, although I had a vague sense there was something off about a certain character (I won’t go into details and risk spoiling it), and I was right, although I never imagined just how bad that person turned out to be. I will still definitely read the book, even though I’ve seen the film.

Finished series 8 of Doctor Who and just have the Christmas special to watch. I think Twelve has possibly taken over as my favourite Doctor by this point, although I do still really love Ten as well.

I also watched season 2 of The Following. What a brilliant, edge-of-your-seat type thriller that series is. There are so many twists and turns and you can never anticipate what’s going to happen next. James Purefoy and Kevin Bacon are both really good too.

And finally – Mr. Selfridge is back. I do love a good drama on a Sunday night, it’s the perfect way to end the weekend.


 

So, that’s my bookish news to date.  How has your week been?  Have you received anything you can’t wait to read, or do you watch any of the show currently catching my eye?  As always it would be great to hear from you in the comments…

28 thoughts on “The Weekend Post #15

  1. Cait says:

    I REALLY want to read A Thousand Pieces of you, but to be honest…it’s mostly about the cover. (Okay, fine. ALL about the cover.) I’m a bit worried I’ll be confused because of the time-travel stuff, but hey. I can’t resist. When it comes into my library I’m having a go. 😉 My Stacking the Shelves!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      🙂 It was totally all about the cover for me as well. It’s so pretty and so detailed that I find myself just looking at it while I should be finishing my other book so that I can get on with A Thousand Pieces of You! I hope the story is as good as the cover!

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Just reading The Girl on the Train now, it’s definitely a page turner, I’m finding it really hard to get back to real life, I just want to read more 🙂 I really love Mr. Selfridge, it’s a great series to watch during these cold, dark winter nights!

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      When I went to the library this morning they had The Giver on DVD so I’ve got that to watch this weekend. It looks really good from the trailers I’ve seen so looking forward to watching it.

      I’m getting addicted to The Girl on the Train right now 🙂

      Like

  2. Katherine @ I Wish I Lived in a Library says:

    The Girl on the Train!! I’m so looking forward to reading that one! You must watch the Doctor Who Christmas special. I was so disappointed last year but I loved this year’s. Not as good as The Doctor the Witch and the Wardrobe but still good and it made me never want to sleep again. I’m really excited to see what happens next with the series. Have a great week!

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I’ve just started The Girl on the Train and so far it’s amazing, a real page turner. Getting back to real life is proving pretty tough 😉

      I just watched the Doctor Who Christmas special and loved every minute of it. Those end scenes almost made me cry, even though I’d already read that Clara was staying, I thought it was SO emotional. And you’re right, it’s left me never wanting to sleep again 😀

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      The Grisha books are definitely worth a read. That’s more or less what I’ve done too, marathoned them, and I think it’s a great way to read them. The wait between books 2 and 3 would have been torture 🙂

      Like

  3. Laura Thomas says:

    I like your new books! I went to the library this weekend. It’s been a long time. I got there expecting to browse for a couple of hours and had to leave after 45 minutes because they were closing early for a Mardi Gras parade. Dang it!
    So I went to some thrift stores instead and found some great books.
    I plan to do a monthly report on my challenges too. Just need to update them now.

    My Sunday Post – http://fuonlyknew.com/2015/02/01/whats-new-on-my-bookshelf-95-and-the-sunday-post/

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      Having your library visit cut short is never good, but I’d love to see a Mardi Gras parade 🙂
      I’m on a book buying ban at the moment but the thrift stores can be amazing, it’s surprising sometimes what people give away.

      Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I think that’s why an online book group seems appealing to me, there’s a bit of distance so you can be as involved as you like or just leave one or two comments, although if you get a good group of people together then a real group could be good too!

      Like

  4. Teddyree says:

    I’m listening to The Girl on the Train this week, hope it lives up to the hype. I’m a cover whore and the cover of A Thousand Pieces of You does it for me lol … I’ve only read her Evernight series but I’m curious about this one now. Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      The Girl on the Train is proving very difficult to put down, I’m really enjoying it.
      I do love the cover of A Thousand Pieces of You, it’s really pretty.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

