January 2015 Reading Challenge Progress

This is the first year I’ve decided to undertake some year-long reading challenges, and I’m really looking forward to them.
I don’t usually have any kind of a plan when it comes to reading, and just pick up whatever I feel like at the time. The only exception to this is if a favourite author has something new coming out. Once I know the release date, I know exactly what I’ll be reading at that time.
Apart from that, I tend to go with the flow, so having some goals and aims will give my reading a little focus, which is going to be fairly new for me.
I’ve decided to keep track of my progress by making an entry about once a month devoted to my challenges and the books I’ve read. I’m playing catch up with my reviews at the moment, but hopefully in future the titles listed below will link to reviews I’ve posted.

Onto the Challenges (each challenge title is linked to my challenge sign up post, in case anything catches your eye and you fancy joining in)…

Flights of Fantasy

The Oversight by Charlie Fletcher
Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel

I Love Library Books

The Oversight by Charlie Fletcher
Christmas in the Snow by Karen Swan
The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami

Mount TBR

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Monthly Keyword Challenge

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – (October: Number)
The Oversight by Charlie Fletcher – (December: Over)

Goodreads

I’ve currently read 4 books out of the 40 I’ve challenged myself to read this year.

And these are the challenges that I’m participating in but have yet to make progress on (!!):

Hail to the King

I have definitely not forsaken reading books by Stephen King, so there should be some progress to report in the near future. Incidentally, I do have a review of Revival which I’ll be posting on my blog soon, but I read that book at the end of last year, so it can’t count towards the challenge. It will also be the first time I try out a new feature on the blog, which will hopefully run alongside some of my future reviews.

So, that’s my monthly progress for my Reading Challenges. I hope to be back next month with more to report, and you can find the (very) condensed version of all this information by checking out the Reading Challenges menu at the top of my blog, where each challenge and any progress updates are listed.

Here’s to another month of good books!!

8 thoughts on “January 2015 Reading Challenge Progress

  1. Nova @ Out of Time says:

    I didn’t do that many challenges because they freak me out. I did like three and I’m ROCKING my GR Challlenge. To date, I’ve read 15 books and I’m 12 ahead of schedule. I think this is because this is my first year NOT doing a challenge haha

    Like

  2. Teresa says:

    I’m not doing any challenges this year except to half my TBR pile (reading 40 books) by the end of the year! I’m not-so-secretly hoping to read a lot more than that but I wanted to give myself room for new releases, of course! Sounds like you’re off to a good start on your challenges. 🙂

    Also, I just wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award. See https://justlittlemusings.wordpress.com/2015/01/30/liebster-award-and-nominations/ for more information.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      40 books, that’s what I’m hoping for this year too. I read some REALLY long books last year, so will probably try for some shorter ones this time around.
      Thanks for the nomination, will have to check out your post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

