Top Ten Tuesday – If I Was in a Book Club We Could Read…

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they provide a prompt and other lovers of listmaking join in with their own top ten list.

This weeks theme is:   Books I’d Love To Read With My Book Club


 

First thing’s first, I’m very sad to admit that I’m not a member of a book club at all, which is a great shame.
I actually really like the idea of an online book club, and would probably consider taking part in something like that.

So, despite my non-book club-membership, I think this is too good a topic to pass up, and so here is a selection of what I would love to read with a book club.

Books I’ve Already Read but Would Love to Share With Others…

The Girl With All the Gifts by M. R. Carey – This one makes the list for the ending alone. It’s an excellent read and I thoroughly enjoyed every page (as you may tell from my review) but that ending… I just wished at the time I’d known someone else who was reading the book too, so we could talk about it and share thoughts. I think there are plenty of talking points about this book, so it would definitely be a good one for a group.

The Dark Tower by Stephen King – Okay, I’m going for the final book, but of course we’d have to read the entire series to achieve the full impact of certain events towards the end of this final book. Also, again, THE ENDING!! Cue great group discussions about what we expected to happen, and what we made of what actually happened. I love this series SO MUCH that I will definitely be re-reading the whole lot sometime in the future.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – I picked this one because I thought it was a wonderfully written, imaginative book and I want to relive all the great visuals it calls to mind. Everyone should treat themselves to a read of this book (and I also think it could make a stunning movie).

A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin – We would start at the beginning and lose ourselves within the richly-written world of Westeros with all its schemes, intrigues, plots and assassinations. With such a rich cast of characters and so many jaw-dropping moments I think this would make a brilliant group read.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – One of my favourite classic novels, I’ve lost count how many times I’ve already read this book, but it’s been a while since my last read, so would definitely love to revisit Thornfield again.

Books I’ve Yet to Read…

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins – Putting this one first as it’s not quite ‘yet to read’. I started it earlier this week and so far it’s absolutely brilliant. I’m having a really difficult time tearing myself away from the story to attend to things that need doing. Something so gripping would definitely inspire conversation within a reading group.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas – Does this one need any explanation or introduction? I didn’t think so!

The Magicians by Lev Grossman – I picked up this book quite recently and only read the first few pages, just to make sure it was something I would probably enjoy. Let’s just say… I did, and now I can’t wait to get going on the series.

Feed by Mira Grant – I loved The Girl With All the Gifts so much that I need more zombie novels in my life and this book, the first in the Newsflesh series comes highly recommended.

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie – I’ve still not read any Agatha Christie, which is very remiss of me, so I’d love to share my very first Christie experience with a group. We could speculate on whodunnit together, and no doubt I’d be totally wrong, although you never know…

 

How do my book club choices sound to you?  And which books would you choose for a group read?  As always, feel free to talk to me in the comments…

 

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – If I Was in a Book Club We Could Read…

  1. Rebecca Bradley says:

    I have The Girl on the Train on my kindle and can’t wait to read it. I also run an online book club that meets once a month on Google+ Hangouts so we can talk ‘face to face’. It’s a crime book club though so we only deal with crime books.

    Like

    • pagesandtea says:

      I thought The Night Circus was such a wonderful read, I know I’ll have to read it again. I would really like to see it as a film, so maybe if that ever happens I’ll read it again before seeing it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

