Bout of Books 12 January 2015 – Final Summary

Bout of Books
Bout of Books is over.
Is it just me or does the week pass far too quickly during a read-a-thon?
I’ve really enjoyed making the effort to update my blog with daily progress updates, and I’m going to miss that, but hopefully I’ll have more time to devote to new content on the blog.
My final day of reading passed far too quickly and I did manage to get a fair bit of reading time in. I managed to read 100 pages of Station Eleven and 125 pages of Christmas in the Snow.

Number of pages I’ve read today: 225
Total number of pages I’ve read: 1000


So, how did I do in terms of meeting my goals? (Original goals post)

I don’t think it went too badly. I never expected I would manage to reach 1000 pages, which is great. I didn’t really have a page count in mind when I first started, so 1000 was a nice surprise.

I managed to read and finish The Oversight, and made good progress with Christmas in the Snow, which I really want to get finished soon as Christmas is becoming more and more of a distant memory now.
I didn’t make a start at all on If Only They Could Talk, but did have the unanticipated enjoyment of starting and getting totally drawn in to Station Eleven.

I did visit quite a few new blogs, and added some new books to my TBR list based on what other people have been reading.
I loved finding people reading books I’ve already finished and really enjoyed, including The Girl With All The Gifts and Fangirl.

Thank you to everyone who visited and commented on my blog during the event. I hope everyone had a great week of reading and achieved all they wanted to. Here’s to the next Bout of Books!

The Week’s Progress Revisited…

Monday

It’s the first day the of the read-a-thon and I’ve got my books picked out ready, and will be making a start just as soon as this progress post is posted to my blog. Happy reading all!

Tuesday (Monday’s Progress)

I had quite a good first day of the read-a-thon. The first book I chose was The Oversight and it turned out to be a good choice because the story was immediately interesting and engaging. I found myself wanting to make more reading time to spend in the world created in this book, and I can’t wait to get back to it and read more.
I also managed to get around to visiting and commenting on a few blogs, which is something else I hope to do during this event.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  100
Total number of pages I’ve read:  100

Wednesday (Tuesday’s progress)

I am still loving The Oversight. It’s intriguing, and the world building and the ideas are wonderful. I also really like the characters who make up the Oversight group. I read another 150 pages today, but it’s a book I’m going to want to draw out for as long as possible, I think, so I’ve also picked up Christmas in the Snow and managed to read some of that as well. I read the first 50 pages.
Also managed to stop by a few more blogs. I love it when I see someone is reading a book that I’ve really enjoyed, because hopefully they’ll enjoy it as much as I did.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  200
Total number of pages I’ve read:  300

Thursday (Wednesday’s progress)

Another 200 pages of The Oversight read today. I know I said I wanted to make it last but once I start reading I just can’t seem to draw myself away. I keep thinking to myself that I’ll just read one more chapter, but one turns into about ten before I put the book down, and then it’s quite often only because something else is demanding my attention. I think this is going to be a book I find it difficult to review because I’m enjoying it so much. I know that sounds strange but I always find that I struggle to convey my enthusiasm coherently for just how great a book is. I will give it some thought once the read-a-thon is done.
I hope everyone else is enjoying their reading as much as I’m enjoying mine.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  200
Total number of books I’ve read:  500

Friday (Thursday’s progress)

I finished The Oversight, which was another 75 pages. The good news is there’s going to be another book in the series. The bad news is that it’s not out yet.
I also picked up Christmas in the Snow again and read another 50 pages.
How is everyone doing so far? Have you read anything really good?

Number of pages I’ve read today:  125
Total number of books I’ve read:  625

Saturday (Friday’s progress)

Hm, when I started the read-a-thon I had a vague plan, but somehow a new book found it’s way into the mix – Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.  I don’t know how it happened.  One minute I was browsing through my e-reader, looking at the many books I have on there to read, and the next, attracted by the pretty cover, I was just thinking I’d have a little glance at the book, having remembered that other bloggers spoke very well of it, and before you know it, I’m off on a reading adventure I never anticipated.  100 pages later I emerged from the post-flu world of Station Eleven.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  100
Total number of pages I’ve read:  725

Sunday (Saturday’s progress)

Managed less with my reading today as I had to go into work and had a few other things to do as well.  I did manage 50 pages of Christmas in the Snow, so all is not lost.

Number of pages I’ve read today:  50
Total number of pages I’ve read:  775

5 thoughts on “Bout of Books 12 January 2015 – Final Summary

    • pagesandtea says:

      Thank you 🙂 I think once I realised I was getting close to 1000 I read just enough to make that total then decided that was enough. Doesn’t feel like I read that much, probably because the books were great reads.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

